No, this is due to the effect and the standard stacking rules.I have an argument with a friend. Do multiple casting of ''ray of enfeeblement'' on one target stuck ?
That is what Overlap means: you take the highest from same source.However, if the first shot of the spell did only 1 point of ability damage and the caster gives another shot that does 5 points, I'd probably allow the second penalty to take effect in place of the first (not stacking).
That is what Overlap means: you take the highest from same source.
Until recently (in the last few years) all penalties were unnamed and therefore stacked with each other. However, a few of the books (splat books?) started using named penalties, so the trend has moved towards penalties stacking the same way that bonuses stack. Personally I think this makes much more sense. (But effects from the same spell cast on the same target overlap and never stack.)
If you don’t have the Tower Shield Proficiency feat, you suffer the shield armor check penalty (–10) on all your attack rolls. The tower shield description, however, says anyone using the shield as a normal shield has a –2 penalty on attack rolls. If you’re not proficient with the shield, do you get the –10 penalty instead of the –2?
Penalties in the D&D game stack. Whenever you use a tower shield, you suffer a –2 on attack rolls. If you aren’t proficient with the shield, you suffer the armor check penalty (–10) as well, for a total penalty of –12.
Penalties do not usually have a type, and always stack with other penalties (except those from the same source) unless otherwise stated.