Slams combined with other attacks

Kaledor

First Post
A question about characters with the SLAM ability.

I'm trying to figure out whether a character can combine a slam with other attacks during a Full-Attack action.

Is it possible?

If the character has one free hand open (to make the slam attack) and a weapon in his other hand, would it just be considered Two-Weapon Fighting (with all the normal penalties)?

What if the character has a weapon in each hand? Is it possible to make the slam?

Would this just fall under the normal rules of iterrative attacks per round (ie, BAB +6 and higher)?

I'm confused.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

A Slam attack is a natural weapon.

Creatures with natural weapons and the ability to wield manufactured weapons (like a sword) can mix them.

When they do this, their natural weapons are treated as secondary natural weapons. Attacks with them take a -5 penalty on attack rolls (-2 with the Multiattack feat) and only apply 0.5x the creature's strength modifier to damage.

You can freely mix natural and manufactured weapons, so long as your manufactured weapon doesn't interfere with your natural attack (e.g., you can't make a claw attack if that hand is holding a sword).

Your natural attacks are made at your highest BAB, with the modifiers as described above. They do not involve the Two-Weapon Fighting Rules at all.

In fact, you could combine TWF with secondary natural attacks: a (roughly humanoid) creature could fight with a longsword and shortsword dual-wielded, and still make bite and tail slap attacks, for instance.

The section of the rules you're looking for, if you want to read them yourself, is here: http://www.wizards.com/d20/files/v35/TypesSubtypesAbilities.rtf

Find the section titled "Manufactured Weapons."

EDIT:

Take, for example, a medium character with a natural slam attack (1d6), BAB +6, Strength +4, who is also wielding a longsword. His attacks in a round may be:

  1. Attack action
    • Natural Only: Slam +10, 1d6+6 (If a creature only has 1 natural weapon, it gains x1.5 Strength bonus to damage)
    • Longsword Only: Longsword +10, 1d8+4
  2. Full Attack action
    • Natural Only: Slam +10, 1d6+6 (Natural weapons do not get iterative attacks from high BAB)
    • Longsword Only: Longsword +10 / +5, 1d8+4
    • Mixed: Longsword +10 / +5, 1d8+4; Slam +5, 1d6+2 (Secondary natural weapons take a -5 penalty to attack and apply 1/2 Strength bonus to damage)
 
Last edited:



Question said:
According to the maug entry in the fiend folio it says weapon OR slam. This means you can only make either right?

That's what I thought too when I first considered posting the question.
Partly because I was looking at the Zombie entries... but the zombie entry specifically says that it can only take the attack action (and thus not the Full Attack action), so it is indeed limited to a slam OR weapon. Perhaps the maug is similar?

But I would assume that since the Slam is a natural weapon attack it should follow all the same rules as Patryn points out.
 

Remove ads

Top