So..can I spell turn an Inflict Critical Wounds or what?

Three_Haligonians

First Post
The description of the spell turning spell in the 3.5 PHB has that contradictory bit about being able to turn spells like the Inflict series. I was just wondering where the best place to look for some clarification is.

Thanks,

J from Three Haligonians
 

log in or register to remove this ad



errata said:
Spell Turning
Player's Handbook, page 282
The example used in the spell description is incorrect, because it makes use of a touch-range spell (inflict critical wounds). In the fourth paragraph of the spell description, change
the text to read as follows: “. . . targeted by a magic missile spell heightened to 4th level, you would turn . . .”

srd said:
Spells and spell-like effects targeted on you are turned back upon the original caster. The abjuration turns only spells that have you as a target. Effect and area spells are not affected. Spell turning also fails to stop touch range spells.

From seven to ten (1d4+6) spell levels are affected by the turning. The exact number is rolled secretly.

When you are targeted by a spell of higher level than the amount of spell turning you have left, that spell is partially turned. The subtract the amount of spell turning left from the spell level of the incoming spell, then divide the result by the spell level of the incoming spell to see what fraction of the effect gets through. For damaging spells, you and the caster each take a fraction of the damage. For nondamaging spells, each of you has a proportional chance to be affected.

If you and a spellcasting attacker are both warded by spell turning effects in operation, a resonating field is created.

Roll randomly to determine the result.

There you have it. Touch spells are not affected.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top