Swift twice?

AidyBaby

First Post
Hi, I was wondering (as I'm gonna run a short play test game) whether characters can shift twice in a round?

I know we get a standard, move and minor action, and a standard can be traded for a move. I know that a move action can be used to shift (to move 5' to avoid OA), but can the standard action be used to shift again?. Could you shift away (as standard, say) then do a move?

In 3/3.5 you couldn't take a 5' step if you have already moved, is it the same in this version?

Cheers,

AidyBaby
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Yes, you could shift twice by converting your standard into a move. You wouldn't be doing much else for the round, though (only a minor action left).
 

AidyBaby said:
Hi, I was wondering (as I'm gonna run a short play test game) whether characters can shift twice in a round?
If you trade in your standard action for a move action (or spend an action point) you can use both move actions to shift. So, yes, you can shift twice in a round. Three times, if you trade in your standard action and spend an action point. And some classes get abilities they can use to shift even more.
 

Not sure what the final official rules will look like, although by allowing shifting and then moving, they require fewer special rules and allow for the equivalent of a full withdraw action without having to specifically write rules for it. That seems like an all-round win to me, and is what I'm going to go with when I run a preview game (hopefully this Sunday) unless I see some confirmation that the official rules are otherwise.
 



DMs running 4E at DDXP quoted this rule several times (paraphrased by me):

"When taking multiple move actions in a round, the distance moved in the FIRST move action dictates the limit of movement for the SECOND move action."

Put another way, this means if you shift (5 ft. step) as your first move action, then a second move action in the same round could only be a shift. In a similar vein, standing from prone (a move action that no longer provokes OAs in 4E) as a move action in a given round means you can take no further movement... I think.

Disclaimer: I did not view the rules text for 4E on this, and am only paraphrasing what I was told at DDXP tables by a couple different DMs.

It would be great to hear from WotC on this one, since it's a rather fiddly rule.
 

Stormtower said:
DMs running 4E at DDXP quoted this rule several times (paraphrased by me):

"When taking multiple move actions in a round, the distance moved in the FIRST move action dictates the limit of movement for the SECOND move action."

Put another way, this means if you shift (5 ft. step) as your first move action, then a second move action in the same round could only be a shift. In a similar vein, standing from prone (a move action that no longer provokes OAs in 4E) as a move action in a given round means you can take no further movement... I think.

Huh?

What this basically means is that if you use your first move action to move (say) 2 squares, then your second move action will be limited to (6 - 2) = 4 squares, assuming your limit is 6 per round. That doesn't rule out shifting twice.

In any case, yay that they went back to the 3.0 rule for standing up!
 


Stormtower said:
DMs running 4E at DDXP quoted this rule several times (paraphrased by me):

"When taking multiple move actions in a round, the distance moved in the FIRST move action dictates the limit of movement for the SECOND move action."

It would be great to hear from WotC on this one, since it's a rather fiddly rule.

Fiddly and untrue, at any rate. Huh, weird! Someone got some wires crossed.

Absolutely, you can shift and then move at your full movement.
 

Remove ads

Top