Teleportation overcomes tripping?


log in or register to remove this ad

You are incorrect.

The rule in question appears under the heading "Conjuration" on page 172 of the 3.5 Player's Handbook, just before the sections that set forth rules specific to each of the five subschools. It is thus a general rule that applies to all conjuration spells.

As previously mentioned in posts 21 and 23, by RAW teleportation is unaffected by that rule:

A creature or object brought into being or transported to your location by a conjuration spell cannot appear inside another creature or object, nor can it appear floating in an empty space. It must arrive in an open location on a surface capable of supporting it.

Teleportation of the caster neither creates a creature or object nor teleports a creature or object to the caster, so that restriction does not apply to dimension door, teleport, and similar (Teleportation) spells.
 

That would mean that you couldn't teleport into the air, wouldn't it?
No, it means you can't teleport someone else into the air (unless you're going with them). :)

Eldritch Lord said:
As previously mentioned in posts 21 and 23, by RAW teleportation is unaffected by that rule:
Teleporting yourself is unaffected by that rule; it does seem to apply to creatures and objects "transported to your location" by teleportation, however.
 

And for reference, I've seen 1 and 2 debated on other boards before, which is why I mentioned them. I've also played under DMs who ascribe to 1 and 3.

I wouldn't be too surprised if Nightcrawler from the X-Men partly inspires some of these debates. Conservation of momentum is a feature of his teleport power. It's been an issue played up in the comics more than once.

Both 1 and 2 have come up a number of times in discussions of Star Trek transporter technology. I wouldn't be particularly surprised if that's another vector for those schools of teleportation thought.
 

Remove ads

Top