sircaren
Explorer
I have a question about something that happened in a past game. I'll try to explain the situation so it makes sense.
The paladin is in melee with a dire wolf and a barghest. Standing 5' away from the paladin is an evil cleric. The party rogue tumbles behind the cleric. On his next round, the paladin takes a 5' step to flank the cleric. He is leaving a threatened square to take an action. I found the rules on the 5' step to be a little ambiguous between the text of it, and the table. I don't remember the text off the top of my head, but I remember being confused at the time. Somewhere it was mentioned that the step itself didn't cause AoO, but what you did as a result might, or something to that effect.
Would the wolf and/or the barghest get AoO?
The paladin is in melee with a dire wolf and a barghest. Standing 5' away from the paladin is an evil cleric. The party rogue tumbles behind the cleric. On his next round, the paladin takes a 5' step to flank the cleric. He is leaving a threatened square to take an action. I found the rules on the 5' step to be a little ambiguous between the text of it, and the table. I don't remember the text off the top of my head, but I remember being confused at the time. Somewhere it was mentioned that the step itself didn't cause AoO, but what you did as a result might, or something to that effect.
Would the wolf and/or the barghest get AoO?
Last edited: