Nzld
First Post
Okay, I now see your logic more clearly. You are approaching from the consideration that we are creating the individual bricks. I was envisioning it like the tower, as simply creating a single mass of stone in the desired shape of the structure. In that light, Group does make sense.Yair said:Ahh, not so. The spell specifically states the tower is made from one block of stone. The spell creates ONE stone, albeit formed in a fancy and elaborate shape, and is hence an Individual. Our spell creates many different stones, and hence requires a Group target.
Ah, but you are looking at it only from the perspective that the "structure" or "room" targeted is the actual thing to be affected. The Room, Structure, and Boundary Targets are not specifically intended to affect the target, but what is within the target. For 'End of the Mighty Castle' to PeTe a castle, Individual or Structure could both work... but what if you instead wanted to cast a PeCo 'Slaying the Inhabitants of the Castle' spell... at Individual, you can only affect one person... at Group, you can only affect a select group which you would have to be aware of.... but with Structure, you can kill everyone inside the castle without having to see them or even know they are there. Just touch the castle and BAM!Yair said:Mmm, with this logic there is no sense to the Room or Structure or even Boundary targets. Why target a Boundary to affect, say, a field - when what I want to do is affect the Individual field? Mythically, it makes perfect sense for it to be an Individual.
I prefer to be more strict about it. If it makes sense to treat the target as a Boundary/Strucutre/Room, it should be treated that way instead of being treated as an Individual.
I am not sure how to categorize a field. Logically, yes, it could be considered Individual, but then, logically, I can see where a mountain could be considered Individual. The rules are specific enough in that regard to say it is not Individual because it is not discrete. I would say a field falls in the same category and is not discrete enough from the ground to be Individual.
Last edited: