TWF without extra attacks

Egres

First Post
Can you use more than one weapon without getting extra attacks?

If yes, would you take any penalties?

Example: Bob is wielding a longsword.

Can he attack with it, draw a dagger as a free action via Quick Draw, and then make a second attack with the dagger?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

is Bob using the same hand to wield the dagger? I think he could do it if he dropped the sword or had gotten it out of the way by some other method (i.e. glove of storing).
 

Egres said:
Can you use more than one weapon without getting extra attacks?

If yes, would you take any penalties?

Example: Bob is wielding a longsword.

Can he attack with it, draw a dagger as a free action via Quick Draw, and then make a second attack with the dagger?

There is some debate over this. I'd allow it, and so long as there were no extra attacks, I'd allow it with no penalties, either.
 

Egres said:
Can you use more than one weapon without getting extra attacks?

If yes, would you take any penalties?

Example: Bob is wielding a longsword.

Can he attack with it, draw a dagger as a free action via Quick Draw, and then make a second attack with the dagger?

Are you referring to changing weapons while using your base attacks?

If so, I don't think there is a rule preventing it. But you are considered fighting with 2 weapons, since you have one in each hand (and are using them).
 

irdeggman said:
Are you referring to changing weapons while using your base attacks?

If so, I don't think there is a rule preventing it. But you are considered fighting with 2 weapons, since you have one in each hand (and are using them).
Let's assume Bob drops the longsword (right hand) as a free action, and draws the dagger with the left hand, and attack with it with the left hand.

How would you rule it?
 

It depends, does he have BAB attacks left? If so then he'd make his normal dagger attack. Done. His left hand is now his 'primary'. Why would he though?

Also I am pretty sure that you could hold both weapons and say you have four BAB attacks you could make two with longsword and two with dagger with no penalties. The TWF penalties only come into play if you want that extra attack(s).
 

Egres said:
Let's assume Bob drops the longsword (right hand) as a free action, and draws the dagger with the left hand, and attack with it with the left hand.

How would you rule it?


In that case I would rule it as a normal attack. The rules don't really differentiate between primary and off hand, except when wielding 2 weapons.

If he had a long sword in one hand and a dagger in the other and attaked with them both he is wielding 2 weapons. He also threatens with either one.
 

Ryngard said:
Also I am pretty sure that you could hold both weapons and say you have four BAB attacks you could make two with longsword and two with dagger with no penalties. The TWF penalties only come into play if you want that extra attack(s).
Really?

Can you cite something to support your view?

I'm not challenging you: I'm really interested.
 

Egres said:
Really?

Can you cite something to support your view?

I'm not challenging you: I'm really interested.

It depends on whether you read 'fighting in this way' to mean with two weapons, or gaining an extra attack.
 

interwyrm said:
It depends on whether you read 'fighting in this way' to mean with two weapons, or gaining an extra attack.
I see.

So, what's the main argument to support the "you get penalties even if you don't get an extra attack"?
 

Remove ads

Top