Typo or deliberate?

I must have missed that due to the fact it's not written anywhere in the power that it has this effect.

All we have is what the power says. It says that a minor action can be used to sustain it, and that an attack occurs when that happens. Thus, the most direct explanation is that... you can sustain it, and when you do an attack happens, and nothing else enters the picture.

Any other interpretation involves actively changing the power. And, as written, "Sustain Minor: The blindness persists until the end of your next turn" seems a much more significant change than simply allowing it to continue operating as written. Especially since it starts to add a lot of rules complications - can you not sustain if you didn't bloody the enemy? If the enemy does, can you no longer sustain?

It also very much does not match the description of the power. I know, I know - you can't make rules based on flavor text. But in a situation like this, where wording is unclear, I'll go with an interpretation that is a perfect match for the description, vs one that is completely unrelated (and even contradictory) to it.

It has a blindness effect, however, the rules for sustain say they extend a power, this is the persistant effect of the power, so why would the power not sustain it?

Where is the exception that contradicts the general rule? The words 'Sustain minor' is all that is necessary to extend the blindness.

No, the rules say that "A power’s description indicates what happens when you sustain it or let it lapse."

Actually, that is what the Compendium says. Checking the PHB itself (page 59) makes this even clearer:

"If a power has a “Sustain” entry, you can keep that power active by taking a specified type of action (minor, move, or standard) during your turn. The “Sustain” entry tells you if a power has an effect that occurs when you take the action to sustain it."

One of the examples given even matches our situation: "Sustain Minor: When you sustain the power, you make a secondary attack."

So, you don't actually need an effect to sustain. Sustaining it simply keeps that power active. If you stop sustaining it, the power is no longer active, and can no longer be sustained. And, for emphasis, the sustain entry tells you what happens when you do.

Whereas by your argument, anything that has a sustain effect would sustain all effects of the power, rather than simply those mentioned in the sustain entry. That doesn't seem to match what the rules say, nor does it match how they have implemented allother sustainable powers.

Let's look at other PHB Sustain Powers. The vast majority of them, in the sustain line, says, "The zone persists" or "The barrier persists" or a similar line.

We do have the following three powers which, like Crown of Stars, involves sustaining a power to inflict a secondary attack, with no actual effect in play to be sustained:

[sblock]Radiant Pulse ("Sustain Minor: When you sustain this power, you can repeat the secondary attack (the primary target is the same each time).")
Note: No conditions are applied, thus demonstrating one can indeed have sustainable powers that work this way.

Curse of the Dark Delirium ("Sustain Standard: You repeat the attack against the target as long as it is within range. On a miss, you can’t sustain this power.")
Note: While the attack allows conditions inflicted by the original attack to be reapplied, they do not automatically persist. No actual effect is being sustained, aside from the ability to repeat the attack.

Doom of Delban ("Sustain Standard: You can attack the same target or switch to a new target within range. Make an attack (as above) and increase the cold damage by 1d10 each time this power hits. Each time you sustain this power, you take 2d10 damage.")
Note: Again, no conditions at hand, just the ability to make attacks.[/sblock]

On the other hand, we also have three powers that features a zone or conjuration that do not explicitly state they persist in the sustain line:
[sblock]Tendrils of Thuban ("Sustain Minor: Make a Constitution vs. Fortitude attack against all targets within the zone. On a hit, the target takes 1d10 + Constitution modifier cold damage and is immobilized (save ends).")

Flaming Sphere ("Sustain Minor: You can sustain this power until the end of the encounter. As a standard action, you can make another attack with the sphere.")

Bigby's Icy Grasp ("Sustain Minor: A target grabbed by the hand takes 1d8 + Intelligence modifier cold damage when you sustain this power. As a standard action, you can attack another target with the hand, but it must release a target it has grabbed.")[/sblock]

We also have the following that, originally, feature sustain lines without explicitly saying what effects were sustained. All of the following have, however, recieved errata to fix those issues.

[sblock]Spiritual Weapon ("Sustain Minor: When you sustain the power, repeat the attack. Your allies continue to gain combat advantage against the weapon’s target.")
Note: This has received errata that now says, "Sustain Minor: You can repeat the attack against an enemy in the weapon’s square, and the weapon persists until the end of your next turn."

Astral Storm ("Sustain Minor: When you sustain this power, make a Wisdom vs. Reflex attack against every enemy within the zone, dealing 2d10 + Wisdom modifier lightning damage if you hit and half damage if you miss.")
Note: This has received errata that now reads: "Sustain Minor: The zone persists until the end of your next turn, and you can make the secondary attack.")

Hunger of Hadar ("Sustain Minor: When you sustain the power, you make a secondary attack.")
Note: This has received errata that now says, "Sustain Minor: The zone persists until the end of your next turn, and you make a secondary attack."

Evard's Black Tentacles ("Sustain Minor: When you sustain the power, repeat the attack against any creature within the zone that is not immobilized, and deal 1d10 necrotic damage to creatures that are immobilized.")
Note: This has received errata that now says, "Sustain Minor: The zone persists, and each creature within the zone takes 10 necrotic damage."[/sblock]

Additionally, we have the following powers which previously featured weird sustains (often involving secondary attacks or effects) - and have received errata removing the sustain element entirely:

[sblock]Battle Pyres ("Sustain Standard: You can make the secondary attack in subsequent rounds as long as at least one of your primary targets is taking ongoing radiant damage.")
Note: This has received errata, removing the sustain entirely, and now reading, "Effect: Until the ongoing damage ends on every primary target, you can take a standard action on your subsequent turns to repeat the secondary attack."

Curse of the Dark Dream ("Sustain Minor: You slide the target 1 square, whether you hit or miss (save ends).")
Note: This has received errata, removing the sustain entirely, and now reading, "Effect: The target is subjected to the dark dream (save ends). Until this effect ends, you can slide the target 1 square as a minor action once per round, starting on your next turn."

Crown of Madness ("Sustain Minor: The target makes a melee basic attack against one of its adjacent allies of your choice (save ends).")
Note: This has received errata, removing the sustain entirely, and now reading, "Effect: The target is subjected to madness (save ends). Until the effect ends, you can use a minor action once per round, starting on your next turn, to cause the target to make a melee basic attack as a free action against one of its adjacent allies of your choice."

Curse of the Bloody Fangs ("Sustain Minor: The target and any of your enemies adjacent to it take 1d10 damage (save ends).")
Note: This has received errata, removing the sustain entirely, and now reading, "Effect: The target is subjected to bloody fangs (save ends). Until the effect ends, you can use a minor action once per round, starting on your next turn, to deal 1d10 damage to the target and each of your enemies adjacent to it."

Curse of the Black Frost ("Effect: If the target moves for any reason, it takes 1d8 cold damage (save ends). If the target saves, you cannot sustain this power. Sustain Minor: The target takes 2d8 cold damage.")
Note: This has received errata, removing the sustain entirely, and now reading, "Effect: The first time the target moves on each of its turns it takes 1d8 cold damage (save ends). Until the effect ends, you can use a minor action once per round, starting on your next turn, to deal 10 cold damage to the target."

Summons of Khirad ("Sustain Minor: Make a Constitution vs. Will attack against the target. On a hit, you teleport the target to an unoccupied square within 3 squares of you. On a miss, the effect ends.")
Note: This has received errata, removing the sustain entirely, and now reading, "Effect: Until the end of the encounter, once per round as a minor action, starting on your next turn, you can make a Constitution vs. Will attack against the target if it is within range but not necessarily within line of sight. On a hit, you teleport the target to an unoccupied square within 3 squares of you. On a miss, the effect ends."

Thief of Five Fates ("Sustain Minor: Make a Charisma vs. Will attack against the target. On a hit, the effect continues. On a miss, the effect ends.")
Note: This has received errata, fully overhauling the power and removing the sustain effect entirely.

Curse of the Golden Mist ("Sustain Standard: Make a Charisma vs. Will attack against the target. On a hit, the target loses its next standard action. On a miss, the power ends.")
Note: This has received errata, fully overhauling the power and removing the sustain effect entirely.

Fireswarm ("Sustain Standard: Make a Constitution vs. Fortitude attack against the target. On a hit, the target and each creature adjacent to it takes 2d10 + Constitution modifier fire and poison damage. On a miss, you deal half damage and the power ends.")
Note: This has received errata, removing the sustain entirely, and now reading, "Effect: Until the end of the encounter, you can take a standard action once per round to make a Constitution vs. Fortitude attack against the target. On a hit, the target and each creature adjacent to it take 2d10 + Constitution modifier fire and poison damage. On a miss, you deal half damage, and the power ends."

Thirsting Maw ("Sustain Minor: The target takes 2d8 damage (save ends). Each time the target takes this damage, you regain hit points equal to half the damage.")
Note: This has received errata, removing the sustain entirely, and now reading, "Effect: The target is subjected to the maw (save ends). Until the effect ends, starting on your next turn you can use a minor action once per round to deal 10 damage to the target, and you regain hit points equal to half that damage."

Delusions of Loyalty ("Sustain Minor: When you sustain this power, you can repeat the attack against the target. If you miss, you can no longer sustain the power.")
Note: This has received errata, fully overhauling the power and removing the sustain effect entirely.[/sblock]

Finally, there are a handful of powers whose sustain effect originally said, "The effect continues", and now explicitly state, "The effect continues until the end of your next turn."

Conclusion:
So, what does this tell us? Well, we have 'proof' in both corners - we have at least two powers that flat-out have no conditions even capable of being persisted by a sustain effect. I'd say that stands are pretty conclusive evidence that Crown of Stars can indeed keep operating even if it doesn't persist the blinding effect.

We also have a number of powers who worked similarly, and received errata to remove the 'sustain' element entirely - such as Summons of Khirad and Firestorm. Perhaps, in an ideal world, Crown of Stars (and the others like it) would receive errata to make them match that approach.

On the other hand, we do have several powers that do not explicitly state, in their sustain line, that they cause the original zone or conjuration to persist. Now, that might serve as evidence that the blindness could indeed continue... however, I see a few things worth noting.

First of all, there is certainly a clear effort made in many other powers, in the errata, to ensure that they do make clear what is persisting due to the sustain (and for how long).

Secondly, of the powers that still don't make it clear, both Flaming Sphere and Bigby's Icy Grasp) don't include any initial durations, either, so clearly have some issues already. The sustain lines also don't feature a description of how long the sustain extends the power, which I see as further evidence that these are probably not powers we should look to for setting precedent.

Tendrils of Thuban seems to be the only power where the sustain line makes no reference at all to making the intended target persist, and given how every other power like that was fixed by errata, I'm inclined to chalk that up as an oversight, not as some hidden insight into the rules.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The latest from CustServ:

I've copied the power directly from the online compendium below. Let's see if we can parse out how it works.

Crown of Stars
Flaring points of star-bright light encircle your head. With each gesture, a painful point of blue-white light leaps away in a halo of choking smoke toward one foe.
Daily Arcane, Implement, Radiant
Standard Action Ranged 10
Target: One creature
Attack: Charisma vs. Reflex
Hit: 2d12 + Charisma modifier radiant damage. If target is bloodied, it is blinded until the end of your next turn.
Sustain Minor: Make a Charisma vs. Will attack against any target in range. On a hit, deal radiant damage equal to your Charisma modifier.

When you use the Crown of stars, you'll roll Charisma vs. the target's reflex on ONE target within 10 squares.
If you hit, you'll inflict 2d12 + Charisma modifier in Radiant Damage to that opponent.

If your opponent is bloodied at the time of the use of the power (regardless of whether you hit with it,) they become blinded until the end of your next turn.

Once the power is used, you can SUSTAIN the power as a minor action on each of your turns. When you choose to do so (during your turn,) the Crown of Stars will lance out with another attack at an enemy within 10 squares. That attack will be a Charisma vs. Reflex. If this attack hits, you will deal radiant damage equal to your Charisma modifier.

The secondary sustained effect does not cause blindness. The secondary sustained effect does NOT have to hit the previously hit target, nor does it require that its target be blinded.

You may use the sustain-effect of this power REGARDLESS of whether or not an enemy was blinded by the initial attack.

Here's hoping this explanation has helped!

Take Care and Good Gaming!

Note: no mention of sustaining the blindness effect.
 

The latest from CustServ:

Note: no mention of sustaining the blindness effect.

Yep, they got it exactly right. I still hesitate to use it as proof, given how CustServ answers can often change, but that is the proper way the power works, and might be useful for convincing your DM.
 

Yep, they got it exactly right. I still hesitate to use it as proof, given how CustServ answers can often change, but that is the proper way the power works, and might be useful for convincing your DM.


I hesitate to use any interpretation as proof that interprets stuff on a hit line with:

"If your opponent is bloodied at the time of the use of the power (regardless of whether you hit with it,) they become blinded until the end of your next turn."

That's not 'exactly right'. That's 'exactly wrong.'

When you sustain the power, you sustain the ONLY effect of the power that's persistant... the blindness. Any other interpretation involves giving the power an effect that is not written in the power. The blindness IS written as the effect of the power.

Where is this other effect written?

The blindness IS the effect of the power, you can read it right there. Nothing else is. Extending the blindness is the ONLY interpretation that actually goes by what the power -says- and not by adding in imaginary effects, keywords that aren't there, or changing the rules on what sustain always does, and always has done.
 

I hesitate to use any interpretation as proof that interprets stuff on a hit line with:

"If your opponent is bloodied at the time of the use of the power (regardless of whether you hit with it,) they become blinded until the end of your next turn."

That's not 'exactly right'. That's 'exactly wrong.'

Whoops - good catch! Yeah, the blindness only happens if you hit, that is definitely true.

When you sustain the power, you sustain the ONLY effect of the power that's persistant... the blindness. Any other interpretation involves giving the power an effect that is not written in the power. The blindness IS written as the effect of the power.

When you sustain a power, you do what it tells you in the "sustain line" - that is all. If it does not tell you to persist an effect, by the rules, that effect should not persist.

As noted in my earlier post: We have three other powers in the PHB that involve taking the sustain action without having any effects to persist. We have an explicit example of that in the very first rules text about how sustain works.

The blindness IS the effect of the power, you can read it right there. Nothing else is. Extending the blindness is the ONLY interpretation that actually goes by what the power -says- and not by adding in imaginary effects, keywords that aren't there, or changing the rules on what sustain always does, and always has done.

No rules need to be changed. No imaginary effects need to be added in. Your interpretation is the only one that involves adding additional effects to the power.

Look, here are the full rules for Sustain, as found in the PHB:

Page 59:
"If a power has a “Sustain” entry, you can keep that power active by taking a specified type of action (minor, move, or standard) during your turn. The “Sustain” entry tells you if a power has an effect that occurs when you take the action to sustain it. See “Durations,” page 278, for more about sustaining a power."

Note: It does not refer to effects persisting automatically (unless they are listed as such in the sustain line). It instead refers to "keeping that power active". In the case of Crown of Stars, that means you can keep sustaining it. What is the result of sustaining it? Making an automatic attack, as that is what the power says you do.

You do not do anything outside of that. The power does not require a condition to exist in order to be sustained. Period.

But we do have an additional entry referenced, on page 278. What does that say?

"Sustained Durations: An effect that has a “sustain standard,” a “sustain move,” or a “sustain minor” duration lasts as long as you sustain it. Starting on the turn after you create an effect, you sustain the effect by taking the indicated action: a standard action, a move action, or a minor action. (You can sustain an effect once per turn.) Some effects do something, such as attack, when you sustain them. A power’s description indicates what happens when you sustain it or let it lapse. At the end of your turn, if you haven’t spent the required action to sustain the effect, the effect ends."

This does match closer to your explanation. However, note that the initial rules covered all Sustain powers, while this is specific to sustain effects based on durations.

How do we know when an effect or condition has a duration based on being sustained? Because the sustain line references that effect. Note once more the key line: "A power’s description indicates what happens when you sustain it or let it lapse."

I definitely understand how you are coming to the conclusions you have arrived at. But the key is to keep the two sections seperate (one, regarding sustaining powers in general, and another, regarding effects whose duration is based on being sustained).

Most powers involve both of them. Some, however, involve being able to sustain the power without that involving extending any durations. The initial Sustain entry gives at least one example of this, and we have three powers in the PHB - Radiant Pulse, Curse of the Dark Delirium, and Doom of Delban - which outright prove that one does not need to have an effect in play in order to use the sustain mechanic.

On that basis, the wording on Crown of Stars is fully mechanically supported as it is, and there is no reason to believe it does anything other than what it explicitly says it does in the power. Which is: Make an attack roll, and potentially blind the target until the end of your next turn. Following that, grant you the ability to make a free attack each round by sustaining the power. Again - the sustain allows the power itself to remain active, but does not involve extending any duration, since it does not say that it does so.

The sustain rules in general definitely could use a bit of cleaning up and some clarity as far as defining terms goes. (Don't get me started on the potential confusion caused by how the word "effect" is re-used in these cases.)

But even if somewhat clunky, they do still work, and do tell us how the power operates. And, aside from the mistake regarding the blinding effect, the latest CustServ answer seems to largely cover it correctly.
 

"This does match closer to your explanation. However, note that the initial rules covered all Sustain powers, while this is specific to sustain effects based on durations."

So... um... what sustain effects don't involve durations, exactly? Sustained IS a duration, the two are inseperable.

The 'general rules for the sustain line', in fact, directly reference the sustained duration rules you quoted, directly.

In order for any effect to be sustained, it must exist. Where is this effect written you claim it must sustain, that being some mythical persistant effect of it being itself?

Seriously, where? I can point out the blindness effect. Your effect is not written at all, anywhere, in the power, NOR is it referenced in the sustain rules.

Again, you're inventing an effect that does not exist in the power. I'm not inventing the blindness, it's written right there. That's the power's effect. If you sustain the power, you sustain that effect. Why wouldn't you? The rules tell you to sustain the power's effect.

The only way it wouldn't is if blindness isn't an effect of the power, or a specific exception applies, and if that's the case, I would encourage you to point it out.
 

Further clarification:

Sustaining and firing are the same minor action. So:

You could attack with a standard action, Move, and fire the crown in the same turn.

They also corrected themselves by confirming the secondary attacks are Cha vs Will- they had mistakenly typed "vs Ref" in the initial response.
 

"This does match closer to your explanation. However, note that the initial rules covered all Sustain powers, while this is specific to sustain effects based on durations."

So... um... what sustain effects don't involve durations, exactly? Sustained IS a duration, the two are inseperable.

The 'general rules for the sustain line', in fact, directly reference the sustained duration rules you quoted, directly.

"If a power has a “Sustain” entry, you can keep that power active by taking a specified type of action (minor, move, or standard) during your turn. The “Sustain” entry tells you if a power has an effect that occurs when you take the action to sustain it. See “Durations,” page 278, for more about sustaining a power."

Note: No mention of durations of effects in the entry itself - instead, a reference to a seperate section on durations later in the book. Instead, the references are to "keeping the power active".

Again, look up the powers Radiant Pulse, Curse of the Dark Delirium, and Doom of Delban.

All sustainable, all without having the sustain action extend any condition or effect. The exact same thing as Crown of Stars, except that since Crown of Stars has a condition in it, you feel that this should be connected to the sustain action - even though the sustain entry makes no mention of causing the blindness to persist.

In order for any effect to be sustained, it must exist. Where is this effect written you claim it must sustain, that being some mythical persistant effect of it being itself?

Seriously, where? I can point out the blindness effect. Your effect is not written at all, anywhere, in the power, NOR is it referenced in the sustain rules.

The sustain rules reference "keeping a power active" without requiring it have a specific condition, zone or conjuration that needs to persist. The wording for the sustain rules, on page 59, mentions only sustaining the "power", and makes no reference to conditions, zones or conjurations.

Of the 5 examples given on that page, 3 make mention of the sustain extending the duration of something, while 2 instead reference something that occurs by taking the sustain action.

We have three powers in the PHB that involve sustaining the power without having any condition, zone or conjuration to be sustained. Like those powers, Crown of Stars does not need to reference any "effect" in need of being sustained. All it needs to do is tell us that the power can be sustained (which is does, by virtue of having a "Sustain" entry) and tell us what happens when the power is sustained (the caster makes an attack.)

Again, you're inventing an effect that does not exist in the power. I'm not inventing the blindness, it's written right there. That's the power's effect. If you sustain the power, you sustain that effect. Why wouldn't you? The rules tell you to sustain the power's effect.

In virtually every single case where a condition, zone or conjuration has its duration extended by Sustaining a power, the Sustain line explicitly states that it is sustained and (usually) for how long.

It is true that the wording is not always consistent on this. But it is pretty close to it, and that is, simultaneously, how the rules tell us it should work - specifying in multiple places that when a power is sustained, you do specifically what it tells you in the sustain line.

Where in the rules do you believe it says that, when a power is sustained, all conditions, zones and conjurations caused by that power automatically have their durations extended? Because if that is interpretation is true, I bet I can track down quite a few powers that will get real weird, real fast, when that rule is applied.

The only way it wouldn't is if blindness isn't an effect of the power, or a specific exception applies, and if that's the case, I would encourage you to point it out.

Here is what the rules say:
-If a power has a Sustain line, it means the power itself can be sustained. No mention is made to conditions, zone or conjurations caused by that power automatically being sustained. Instead, we are told that the Sustain line will tell us what happens when the action is taken to Sustain it. (PHB, pg 59).
-We are also told some durations are Sustainable. Your interpretation seems to be that any duration involved in a Sustainable power automatically becomes a Sustainable duration. I admit, I can see why you might think that, but I don't think it holds up, either when taking a closer look at the rules, or when examining many of the existing Sustainable powers out there.
-So, how do we know if a duration is Sustainable? Typically, because the Sustain line itself makes mention of the condition, zone or conjuration that persists due to Sustaining the power.

I can see nothing in the rules that says that a condition caused by a power, but not referenced in its Sustain line, is nonetheless automatically extended when the power is Sustained.

Similarly, I think the rules make it clear (along with the three example powers I gave earlier) that it is entirely possible to have a power which can be sustained without having any condition, zone or conjuration created by the power. Do we at least have agreement on that count?
 

"If a power has a “Sustain” entry, you can keep that power active by taking a specified type of action (minor, move, or standard) during your turn. The “Sustain” entry tells you if a power has an effect that occurs when you take the action to sustain it. See “Durations,” page 278, for more about sustaining a power."

Note: No mention of durations of effects in the entry itself - instead, a reference to a seperate section on durations later in the book. Instead, the references are to "keeping the power active".

Again, look up the powers Radiant Pulse, Curse of the Dark Delirium, and Doom of Delban.

All three powers here are errata'd or mid playtest so that they actually work. As written, they do not.

Hit/Effect: Do nonpersistant effect
Sustain blah: Do nonpersistant effect (save ends) is nonsense on so many levels... those powers are written broken.

All sustainable, all without having the sustain action extend any condition or effect. The exact same thing as Crown of Stars, except that since Crown of Stars has a condition in it, you feel that this should be connected to the sustain action - even though the sustain entry makes no mention of causing the blindness to persist.

It has to be. You cannot have the argument that the power persists without having the effect of that power persist. That blindness is an effect of the power. For it NOT to persist requires a specific exception, if the power is extended.

The sustain rules reference "keeping a power active" without requiring it have a specific condition, zone or conjuration that needs to persist. The wording for the sustain rules, on page 59, mentions only sustaining the "power", and makes no reference to conditions, zones or conjurations.

And the rules reference given in that section points explicitly to effects. Blindness is an effect of the power. Why are you only using half the rules?

Of the 5 examples given on that page, 3 make mention of the sustain extending the duration of something, while 2 instead reference something that occurs by taking the sustain action.

However, the rules themselves mention that the effect persists. You do not need to write 'The effect persists' when the rules already tell you to do so. Mentioning redundancies does not disprove the rule, which you yourself have quoted and are choosing to ignore.

We have three powers in the PHB that involve sustaining the power without having any condition, zone or conjuration to be sustained.

None of which have persistant effects, and all of which are undergoing the process of having them make sense.

How do you 'Sustain Minor: do damage (save ends)'? What does that even mean?

Like those powers, Crown of Stars does not need to reference any "effect" in need of being sustained. All it needs to do is tell us that the power can be sustained (which is does, by virtue of having a "Sustain" entry) and tell us what happens when the power is sustained (the caster makes an attack.)

Which will extend the power's effect, as in the section on durations. The blindness is the power's effect. Therefore it is sustained. Is the blindness NOT the power's effect? If not, what is it an effect of?

In virtually every single case where a condition, zone or conjuration has its duration extended by Sustaining a power, the Sustain line explicitly states that it is sustained and (usually) for how long.

In most of those cases, the power in question doesn't do anything with a sustain action other than persist the effect. Placeholder text does not mean 'ignore the rules for sustaining' in other cases.

Again, where is the specific exception that lets you ignore the rule?

It is true that the wording is not always consistent on this. But it is pretty close to it, and that is, simultaneously, how the rules tell us it should work - specifying in multiple places that when a power is sustained, you do specifically what it tells you in the sustain line.

The same ruleset also tells you to extend the power's effect. Why are you only doing half of what the rules tell you to do?

If one rule says to do A, and another rule says to do B, and A and B are not contradictory, then you do A AND B.

Where in the rules do you believe it says that, when a power is sustained, all conditions, zones and conjurations caused by that power automatically have their durations extended?

On page 278, where it says, explicitly, that sustaining a power causes its effects to persist. Conditions, zones, and conjurations are the effects of a power that creates conditions, zones, and/or conjurations, ergo, they persist.

You have a rule that says the effects persist. Thus, the onus is now on you to prove that Crown of Stars has a specific exception that claims they do not, or a rule that states that conditions, zones, and/or conjurations are not the effects of a power that causes them or has those keywords.

You cannot, because that text does not exist.

Because if that is interpretation is true, I bet I can track down quite a few powers that will get real weird, real fast, when that rule is applied.

Probably, and that's to be expected. Lots of sustain powers got errata'd for a very good reason.

Here is what the rules say:
-If a power has a Sustain line, it means the power itself can be sustained. No mention is made to conditions, zone or conjurations caused by that power automatically being sustained. Instead, we are told that the Sustain line will tell us what happens when the action is taken to Sustain it. (PHB, pg 59).

You've fixated on conditions, zones, or conjurations as if they have specific rules that divorce them from being the effects of their power, or are special unique snowflakes in this regard.

The onus is on you to prove this point.

-We are also told some durations are Sustainable. Your interpretation seems to be that any duration involved in a Sustainable power automatically becomes a Sustainable duration. I admit, I can see why you might think that, but I don't think it holds up, either when taking a closer look at the rules, or when examining many of the existing Sustainable powers out there.

The presence of 'Sustain X' makes an effect a sustainable effect. There's no mythical 'sustainable non-effects' which is what you're trying to introduce into the game.

Moreover, your argument that the power persist doesn't negate the notion that the blindness persists; you're trying to state the blindness is not an effect of the power, which is flatly wrong. It is, and if the power is sustained, the effects of the power are sustained, by the rules on sustainable durations.

And if the sustainable duration does not apply, then you have a power with no duration, which means that the effects are instantaneous and there is no effect to sustain.

-So, how do we know if a duration is Sustainable? Typically, because the Sustain line itself makes mention of the condition, zone or conjuration that persists due to Sustaining the power.

Really? Cause the rule says the existance of the line itself is your clue.

I can see nothing in the rules that says that a condition caused by a power, but not referenced in its Sustain line, is nonetheless automatically extended when the power is Sustained.

When the power is sustained, the effects of the power are sustained.
Blindness is the only effect of the power with a duration.
Therefore, it is the only effect that can be sustained.

Your logic means that blindness is not an effect of the power; you are wrong.

Similarly, I think the rules make it clear (along with the three example powers I gave earlier) that it is entirely possible to have a power which can be sustained without having any condition, zone or conjuration created by the power. Do we at least have agreement on that count?

It is certainly possible, and such a cause would have an explicit exception written into it. It would mention the specific effect to be sustained as that which was to be sustained.

However, this is not one of those cases: No exception is printed, so you must execute the applicable rules.
 

For it NOT to persist requires a specific exception, if the power is extended.
No... for it to persist requires that the power states that the blindness persists.

It does not. Sorry.

Do you have a character that has this power, or is there some other reason you're so attached to that interpretation?
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top