Ultimate healer

Sound of Azure said:
It's in Races of the Wild. It allows a caster to make a knowledge (nature) check when in a natural setting and casting a targeted non-aligned, non-necromancy spell. If you succeed, the spell has its normal effect, plus heals 2hp/spell level. If you cast such a spell on undead, it deals positive energy damage to them at the same rate (Will negates).

Ah cool. Thanks for the tip.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

boolean said:
True, but it also stops you from using Divine Ward and Divine Metamagic on the same spell. You can heal even more damage, or you can heal safely from a distance, but you can't do both.


Complete Divine, p. 77:

Of course, Rule Zero applies as always.


Hmm. Good text. So pretty clearly kills the Domain Spontaneity feat / DMetamagic feat combo. But, Divine Ward is done at the beginning of the day when you prep your spells, and lasts for 24 hours. So there's no problem Warding someone at the beginning of the day, then later delivering a Divine Metamagicked Twin-Spell at range. The text you quoted directly refers to "overlap" being fine.

cheers,

Carpe
 

Carpe DM said:
Hmm. Good text. So pretty clearly kills the Domain Spontaneity feat / DMetamagic feat combo. But, Divine Ward is done at the beginning of the day when you prep your spells, and lasts for 24 hours. So there's no problem Warding someone at the beginning of the day, then later delivering a Divine Metamagicked Twin-Spell at range. The text you quoted directly refers to "overlap" being fine.

Divine Ward also requires spending a turn attempt when you use it to cast a spell at range.
 

Someone said:
No, he's right. (4.5+5)*1,5 is the right one.

The +1 isn't a "variable, numeric effect". Why would it be empowered? (Wondering honestly, is that how it works? If I empower a Ray of Enfeeblement at 1d6+4, and roll a 6, does it do 15?)
 

SadisticFishing said:
The +1 isn't a "variable, numeric effect". Why would it be empowered? (Wondering honestly, is that how it works? If I empower a Ray of Enfeeblement at 1d6+4, and roll a 6, does it do 15?)

For 1d6+4, the 1d6 isn't the variable, numeric number. The 1d6+4 is. That is, the numeric number is a variable between 5 and 10. It just so happens that there aren't any dice that start numbering at 5 and end at 10, so they just use a d6 and add 4 to it.
 

SadisticFishing said:
The +1 isn't a "variable, numeric effect". Why would it be empowered? (Wondering honestly, is that how it works? If I empower a Ray of Enfeeblement at 1d6+4, and roll a 6, does it do 15?)
Have a read of the Empower Spell feat in the PHB (not the SRD). It gives Magic Missile as an example and clearly multiplies the final result, and not simply the variable component.
 

Legildur said:
Have a read of the Empower Spell feat in the PHB (not the SRD). It gives Magic Missile as an example and clearly multiplies the final result, and not simply the variable component.

Nono, its just that the final result IS the variable component.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top