Unearthed Arcana Unearthed Arcana Subclasses Part III: Artificer, Druid, and Ranger

The third in the recent spate of D&D subclasses from WotC! "Continuing our series of new D&D subclasses in 2020, Unearthed Arcana presents three more for you to playtest: the Armorer for the artificer, the Circle of the Stars for the druid, and the Fey Wanderer for the ranger. Today’s article also includes some new infusions for the artificer."

UnearthedArcana_header.jpg



 
Last edited by a moderator:

log in or register to remove this ad

I know this is a little more steam punk then Eberron is supposed to be (and for the love of Lolth, no one needs another "Is Eberron steampunk?" digression), but I would prefer the armor to be large and have the artificer be inside it working some kind of control panel.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

doctorbadwolf

Heretic of The Seventh Circle
I don’t really get Iron Man from the Armorer. Like, beyond “guy in special armor”...🤷‍♂️

I guess with integrated weapons from infusions, but if that’s the goal, make that possible from level 3. It’s just armor.

Like, look at it this way. You’ve got the active abilities, and a suit of magical plate armor. That...is fine, but it’s weaker than just giving a suit of normal armor, since normal armor could just have all those infusions (head, shoulders, knees, and toes) without any fuss.
 

I don’t really get Iron Man from the Armorer. Like, beyond “guy in special armor”...🤷‍♂️

I guess with integrated weapons from infusions, but if that’s the goal, make that possible from level 3. It’s just armor.

Like, look at it this way. You’ve got the active abilities, and a suit of magical plate armor. That...is fine, but it’s weaker than just giving a suit of normal armor, since normal armor could just have all those infusions (head, shoulders, knees, and toes) without any fuss.
I'm guessing that with the Level 9 Armorer feature specifically giving you the ability to infuse different parts of your armour separately, the design intent for infusing armour in general is that the whole thing inly counts as one object that can only hold one infusion that applies to the whole armour.
 

doctorbadwolf

Heretic of The Seventh Circle
I'm guessing that with the Level 9 Armorer feature specifically giving you the ability to infuse different parts of your armour separately, the design intent for infusing armour in general is that the whole thing inly counts as one object that can only hold one infusion that applies to the whole armour.
It really genuinely can’t mean that, though. There is no rule stopping you from wearing bracers of archery while wearing plate, after all.
 

Leatherhead

Possibly a Idiot.
It really genuinely can’t mean that, though. There is no rule stopping you from wearing bracers of archery while wearing plate, after all.
Well you do get the benefit of infusing magic plate with the Armorer. Which is really nice if you snag a suit of Adamantine Armor or the like.
 

Chaosmancer

Legend
It really genuinely can’t mean that, though. There is no rule stopping you from wearing bracers of archery while wearing plate, after all.

I am actually coming to think that the level 9 ability is in response the the level 3 ability.

The Power Armor specifically grows to cover your entire body, this means it would cover your boots, you couldn't seperate out the bracers of the armor for bracers of archery, ect.

That raises the question though, what is the benefit of your armor covering your entire body?
 

I am actually coming to think that the level 9 ability is in response the the level 3 ability.

The Power Armor specifically grows to cover your entire body, this means it would cover your boots, you couldn't seperate out the bracers of the armor for bracers of archery, ect.

That raises the question though, what is the benefit of your armor covering your entire body?
Can't be poked in the eye?
 

doctorbadwolf

Heretic of The Seventh Circle
I am actually coming to think that the level 9 ability is in response the the level 3 ability.

The Power Armor specifically grows to cover your entire body, this means it would cover your boots, you couldn't seperate out the bracers of the armor for bracers of archery, ect.

That raises the question though, what is the benefit of your armor covering your entire body?
Right, exactly! It’s just an image thing, so why give it negative mechanical consequences?
 

Ashrym

Hero
I looked at it and my first impression was that artificers getz MOAR AC? ;-)

Not sure that was necessary, especially along with the temp hp benefit. Temp hp is what's really good about artillerists and the heroism spell. I do like the magically powered power armor concept though.

You learn how to use your artificer infusions to specially modify the armor enhanced by your Power Armor feature. That armor now counts as separate items for the purposes of your Infuse Items feature: armor (the chest piece), boots, bracers, and a weapon. Each of those items can bear one of your infusions. In addition, the maximum number of items you can infuse at once increases by 2, but those extra items must be part of your power armor.

There was some confusion on this earlier. The armorer subclass does increase the total number of items infused. These extra two just can't be handed out like others can.

I think 2 extra infusions is pretty good.


The druid should have wildshapes based on constellations. I saw that earlier and agree.

The ranger is interesting. It looks like the psychic damage is more applicable to multiple targets instead of concentrating damage on one target. I like the flavor, not sure if it's good mechanically or not just looking at it.

I am curious as to how it plays along with the UA for alternative features that gives rangers a lot more spells already. More spells via alt class abilities plus free spells known via subclass seems to give a lot to rangers. We're up to rangers knowing as many spells as lore bards at that point.

A bard ends up with 22 spells known. With both UA's the ranger ends up with 24 spells known. The bard also has 22 spells slots. The ranger has 15 spell slots plus 7 free castings of primal awareness spells plus the free castings of hunter's mark for up to 5 more castings (concentration free). We actually have rangers casting more spells per day than most classes.

That strikes me as a bit odd with better weapons, better hit points, better armor, additional damage abilities, another skill from cunning will, and adding wisdom modifier on top of charisma for charisma checks (likely simply using WIS double duty). Running out of reasons to play a warlock kind of fast there. ;-)
 

Right, exactly! It’s just an image thing, so why give it negative mechanical consequences?
This isn't what is intended. The armour does not prevent you from wearing magical boots.

This is what the level 9 ability is for:

1) You can infuse the weapons. You cannot put an infusion on the integrated weapons prior to level 9, because the target of a weapon infusion must be a weapon, not armour.

2) You can have the intergrated weapons and armour infused at the same time. Normally one item can have no more than one infusion.

3) You get two extra free infusions. So you could have your weapons and armour infused and still have 3 (at level 9) infusions left over which you could use, for example, to infuse your friend's weapons and armour.
 

This isn't what is intended. The armour does not prevent you from wearing magical boots.

This is what the level 9 ability is for:

1) You can infuse the weapons. You cannot put an infusion on the integrated weapons prior to level 9, because the target of a weapon infusion must be a weapon, not armour.

2) You can have the intergrated weapons and armour infused at the same time. Normally one item can have no more than one infusion.

3) You get two extra free infusions. So you could have your weapons and armour infused and still have 3 (at level 9) infusions left over which you could use, for example, to infuse your friend's weapons and armour.
I mean the weapons are part of the armor but they also 'count' as weapons. Seems very unlikely they count as weapons besides for infusions. The fact they didn't word it like a demon armor Or anything else is telling that they probably intentionally wanted them to be weapons so it works with Infusions.
 

Kurotowa

Legend
1) You can infuse the weapons. You cannot put an infusion on the integrated weapons prior to level 9, because the target of a weapon infusion must be a weapon, not armour.

2) You can have the intergrated weapons and armour infused at the same time. Normally one item can have no more than one infusion.

I'm not sure I agree, although I can totally see your reasoning. You're going by the established principle that if a class ability says it lets you do X, by implication you cannot do X until you get that class ability. Which is often the right principle to follow! I'm just not sure that's what this class ability is trying to say.

What I think the Level 9 class ability is trying to say is more like, "You gain two bonus infusions to your maximum limit. Those two have to be items on this specific list of four options." There's nothing saying you can't infuse them before you get the class feature, just that the bonus infusions from the class feature have to be used on them specifically.

Either way, it's definitely worded in a confusing way and needs to be cleaned up.
 

I'm not sure I agree, although I can totally see your reasoning. You're going by the established principle that if a class ability says it lets you do X, by implication you cannot do X until you get that class ability.

No, that is not my reasoning. My reasoning is that (for example) the Enhanced Weapon infusion must be used on "a simple or martial weapon" (ERFTLW p62), not "a suit of armour" and the general rule that you cannot infuse magic items or put more than one infusion in the same item.

What I think the Level 9 class ability is trying to say is more like, "You gain two bonus infusions to your maximum limit. Those two have to be items on this specific list of four options." There's nothing saying you can't infuse them before you get the class feature, just that the bonus infusions from the class feature have to be used on them specifically.
This is kind of true, however, your power armour is armour, and therefore can only be infused with infusions that target armour (and then only if the base armour is non-magical). You can still infuse your boots if you like, but they can't be the boots that come with the armour - but it doesn't make any difference mechanically.
 

Kurotowa

Legend
This is kind of true, however, your power armour is armour, and therefore can only be infused with infusions that target armour (and then only if the base armour is non-magical). You can still infuse your boots if you like, but they can't be the boots that come with the armour - but it doesn't make any difference mechanically.

Right, the big question is the weapon. Can you infuse the weapon created by Armor Model before you get Armor Modifications at Level 9? It does say they "count as a simple melee/ranged weapon". You absolutely can after, or else Armor Mods wouldn't make any sense. But is the point of Armor Mods to let you do it at all, or to give you the two bonus infusion slots for doing it? If you can't infuse the Armor Model weapon can you at least buff it with the Magic Weapon spell?

Like I said, this is obviously a non-final draft that needs the wording clarified. I can see arguments both ways.
 

Right, the big question is the weapon. Can you infuse the weapon created by Armor Model before you get Armor Modifications at Level 9? It does say they "count as a simple melee/ranged weapon".
My ruling is no.

1) "count as" is not the same as "is". Gauntlets are not on the simple or martial weapons list in the PHB.

2) The power armour is undoubtedly armour, and therefore eligible for "armour" infusions. It shouldn't be eligible for two different sets of infusions. Also consider: the base armour can be magical, and therefore ineligible for any infusions.

3) There isn't really much need to turn the integrated weapons into +1 weapons, since they do energy damage and therefore aren't subject to resistance/immunity to non-magical weapons.

4) The subclass is called "Armorer" and therefore should be encouraged to learn "armour" infusions ahead of "weapon" infusions.
 
Last edited:

Parmandur

Book-Friend
So, now that it seems that most of last year's UA output was, as predicted, related to Magic: the Gathering...what could this material be for?
 


Related Articles

Visit Our Sponsor

An Advertisement

Advertisement4

Top