Warlock Invocations -- Dismissable?

Dimwhit

Explorer
I'm looking, in particular, at Fell Flight, which gives a Warlock shadowy wings and has a 24 hour duration (as many invocations do). Can it be dismissed, or is a Warlock stuck with the wings for the duration? I can't see a ruling one way or another.

EDIT: Also, what's the Concentration DC to cast the Eldrich Blast on the defensive?
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

The erratta puts EB as a 1st level invocation unless it is "pumped up" by an essence or shape, in which case it takes on the highest level of essence or shape. Given that, treat it as a spell of the equivalent level, keeping in mind that it has a somatic component (so if you are grappled, you can't even try to cast an invocation). So DC = 15 + level. For a vanilla EB, that is a DC of 16.

For the first question, I would assume that invocations are dismissable, but I could be wrong.
 

The rules are a little spread out, which is why it helps to read the Warlock from start to finish a few times. Page 8, under the Warlock Invocations heading, the lone sentence just above Invocations and Eldritch Blast. "A warlock can dismiss any invocation as a stardard action, just as a wizard can dismiss a spell." Which does beg the question of what a warlock using Dark Discorporation does, but that's a different kettle of fish entirely.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top