Warlock's Eldritch Blast?

Thanee said:
I havn't made any such changes.

Oh yes you have.


I only said, that Full Attack should say "maybe" instead of "no", because depending on what you do with the various attacks it either could or could not provoke, so the "no" is obviously wrong.

So you admit that you did in fact make this change.

Here's my question, under your reading of the rules: Why do you say it's wrong? Why should you provoke multiple AoO's when making the Full Attack action with a ranged weapon? After all, you say that ranged weapon attacks aren't what provoke AoO's.



Another way to look at it would be, that the Full Attack action really does never provoke any AoO by itself, which would lead to the sub-actions (as evidenced with Disarm and Grapple). Maybe they did this to prevent a Full Attack action to provoke in addition to the Disarm action or Grapple action.

But you just said that attacking is not what provokes, it's the action. Why are you contradicting yourself now?


Manyshot is not listed at all, so it could be either way.

Er... no, feats which provoke an AoO generally state this in the feat description. Under your reading of the rules, Manyshot would not provoke. Declaring that it does would be a house rule at this point.

Obviously it should provoke an AoO.

How do you justify it provoking? What is it about the feat that makes you think it should provoke? It's not an Attack (ranged) action afterall. Just a ranged attack. :)


The rules don't cover it, so no changes have to be made, just additions, but those have to be made, anyways, in the case of Manyshot (they usually say whether an action provokes... or whether an action does not provoke... no mentioning of this either way in the Manyshot description).

Only under your reading of the rules. Under my reading, ranged weapon attacks provoke.

And generally, the PHB only states if the feat provokes. It only says the feat won't provoke if the feat modifies an action that normally provokes (like Improved Grapple or Improved Disarm).

You keep saying, that I need to make changes to the rules, yet your interpretation violates the very definition of attacks of opportunity, which is a rather big change IMHO. ;)

No, I believe that I'm using the rules as written. They say that Ranged Weapon Attacks provoke, right there in the definitioin of attacks of opportunity. You've quoted the relevent text yourself.


I'm not saying that I'm 100% sure that a ranged touch spell should provoke two AoO's. There's still a fair amount of ambiguity about whether ranged touch spells actually count as ranged weapons for all rules purposes (in spite of my poke at Abraxus earlier). But I haven't seen an alternate reading of the rules that seems internally consistent to me.

And there is a precedent in the rules for a single action providing multiple opportunities for an AoO: The Full Attack Action with a ranged weapon. I believe that you agree that it would provoke an AoO for each individual attack, even though it is a single Full Round Action.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

Caliban said:
Here's my question, under your reading of the rules: Why do you say it's wrong? Why should you provoke multiple AoO's when making the Full Attack action with a ranged weapon? After all, you say that ranged weapon attacks aren't what provoke AoO's.

Because a ranged weapon attack is an action, which provokes an attack of opportunity. The text clearly states that... here's the passage again:

Casting a spell and attacking with a ranged weapon, for example, are distracting actions. Table 8-2 notes many of the actions that provoke attacks of opportunity.

In short...

(casting a spell and) attacking with a ranged weapon ... are ... actions.

Then it goes on to say...

Table 8-2 notes many of the actions that provoke attacks of opportunity.

So, we take a look at table 8-2 and find the Attack (ranged) action, which is a standard action focussing on attacking with a ranged weapon, and which provokes an attack of opportunity.

So we see, that when attacking with a ranged weapon you do indeed provoke an attack of opportunity in the process, because you have to perform an action, which does so.

Of course, the fact, that you are attacking with a ranged weapon is rather crucial in the provoking an attack of opportunity, but it's not the attack, but the action which provokes the AoO. If you are casting a spell, the fact, that you also attack with a ranged weapon (ranged touch spell) is irrelevant, since you do not perform an action, which is focused on attacking with a ranged weapon, but an action, which is focused on casting a spell. That's what provokes the AoO, the action.

As the ranged attack is only listed as a standard action (it really should be under action type varies, as Hypersmurf said somewhere above), we are left to ourselves to draw the conclusions. A ranged attack really seems to fall into the same category as a disarm or grapple (or trip) attempt, if you look at it closely (it can be done as a standard or a full-round action, so it varies). An action with the action type: varies, which can be a sub-element of the Full Attack action.

But you just said that attacking is not what provokes, it's the action. Why are you contradicting yourself now?

I just said, that even if the Full Attack action does not provoke by itself (the table quite clearly states that), it's still the action (sub-action in this context), which provokes.

The other way to look at it would be what I said initially, that the Full Attack action should say "maybe", because it sometimes provokes AoO and sometimes not, depending on what kind of sub-action you take with the multiple attacks.

This is not contradictory in the way you meant, just two different viewpoints, both are fully consistent with the way I read the rules; tho after putting some thought into the matter, I believe the first makes more sense, really, and then the "error" in the table I first mentioned with the Full Attack action would not be existent, so it's obviously "better" that way.

But in any case... the action provokes, so there is no contradiction to that part, whatsoever.

Er... no, feats which provoke an AoO generally state this in the feat description.

Really? Name a single one from the PHB that does, please. Havn't found one myself...

How do you justify it provoking? What is it about the feat that makes you think it should provoke? It's not an Attack (ranged) action afterall. Just a ranged attack. :)

The fact, that it is very close to the Attack (ranged) action. I already said, that it should state that it does provoke, it does not. Neither does it state, that it does not provoke. It is also not listed on the table of actions, which provoke, therefore it's not covered in the rules.

No, I believe that I'm using the rules as written. They say that Ranged Weapon Attacks provoke, right there in the definitioin of attacks of opportunity. You've quoted the relevent text yourself.

Oh, really? So where exactly do they say, that attacking provokes an attack of opportunity and not performing an action (which lets you attack)?

Provoking an Attack of Opportunity: Two kinds of actions can provoke attacks of opportunity: moving out of a threatened square and performing an action within a threatened square.

Performing a Distracting Act: Some actions, when performed in a threatened square, provoke attacks of opportunity .... Casting a spell and attacking with a ranged weapon, for example, are distracting actions. Table 8-2: Actions in combat notes many of the actions that provoke attacks of opportunity.

So, where exactly does this say anything but that actions provoke attacks or opportunity?

It doesn't even say, that attacking with a ranged weapon provokes. It only says, that it is a (distracting) action.

The glossary entry about attacks of opportunity also says, that you get to make one, if an action provoked it.

And there is a precedent in the rules for a single action providing multiple opportunities for an AoO: The Full Attack Action with a ranged weapon. I believe that you agree that it would provoke an AoO for each individual attack, even though it is a single Full Round Action.

A single action, which can be broken down into multiple actions, yes (otherwise there would be not point in listing disarm and grapple as provoking actions, because there is no Disarm or Grapple action on the same level as an Attack or Full Attack action).

This alone is the reason, that it can provoke multiple AoOs.

Bye
Thanee
 
Last edited:

Caliban said:
No, it wouldn't. I'm afraid you are incorrect.

The Attack action does not provoke. Using the Attack action to make a (ranged) attack does, because ranged attacks provoke. That's all the table indicates.

Ok, great, then please give me an explanation why the game designers chose to write the table 8-2 down in the way they did?

Why didn't they simply make a list of distracting acts (seperate from the actions you perform to make them)?

Like "casting a spell", "attacking with a ranged weapon", "standing up", "making a disarm attempt".

Why did they make a list of actions sorted by action type?

Like "Standard Action" - Cast a spell, Attack (ranged); "Move Action" - Stand up from prone; "Action (type varies)" - Disarm; etc.

Why, if the action is not in any way relevant here, would a person come to such a silly idea to make a list that is sorted by and only includes actions?

Do you have any explanation for that?

Bye
Thanee
 
Last edited:

Thanee said:
Why, if the action is not in any way relevant here, would a person come to such a silly idea to make a list that is sorted by and only includes actions?

Do you have any explanation for that?

Bye
Thanee

Because it is better organization that alphabetizing? This way the player not only can tell which action provokes, but they can also tell if the action is a Standard, Move, Full-round, Free, or not-an-action. Effectively, they killed 2 birds w/ 1 stone by making the chart the way they did...
 

For what it's worth, I brought up the question of a second AoO from ranged touch spells on the 3rdedition.org boards. Someone finally cited what I think was a Sage ruling stating that the ranged touch component of a spell that is granted at spell completion is not an action and thus doesn't qualify for AoOs. No I don't have the quote. Nor have I read this thread in its entirety.
 

Er... no, feats which provoke an AoO generally state this in the feat description.
-----------------------------
Really? Name a single one from the PHB that does, please. Havn't found one myself...

Rapid Reload.

-Hyp.
 


RigaMortus said:
Because it is better organization that alphabetizing? This way the player not only can tell which action provokes, but they can also tell if the action is a Standard, Move, Full-round, Free, or not-an-action. Effectively, they killed 2 birds w/ 1 stone by making the chart the way they did...

Erm... did you read the complete post? :p

The assumption is, that actions do not provoke attacks of opportunity (that is one part of what Caliban says).

Bye
Thanee
 

Caliban said:
Ah, no that is incorrect. Touch spells are not only melee touch attacks. From that same section, on page 141: "Touch Attacks come in two types: melee touch attacks ... and ranged touch attacks (for touches made with magic rays, for example)."

Where does it state this? It would seem to me that the ranged touch attack has to come after you are done casting the spell, since the spell is what generates the effect you are making the attack with.
I think both of these are under the holding the charge. when you cast a spell with a touch attack, the attack can be made the same round as the spell. I don't think you can hold the charge on a ranged spell, but I'll check tonight.

Anyone else know what page it clarifies that you can cast ray of frost and attack the same round, while I'm away?
 

Ok, found it right away. P140/141 (same page with the discussed tables, suprised you had to ask where it was).

Touch spells in combat (abridged):
* Touch spells do not provoke attacks of opportunity
* Casting the spell does provoke attack of opportunity
* There are two types of Touch Attacks, Range and Melee (there are no clarifications that any of the rules in this section apply to one, but not the other)
* "If you don't disharge the spell in the round that you cast the spell, ..." Implies that you can discharge the spell in the round that you cast the spell. Though It is never discussed what type of action it is to make a touch attack either a held one, or one discharged the round the spell is cast.
* "You can continue to make touch attacks round after round." A bit off discussion, but if the blast (or any ranged touch spell) misses, its not discharged. Since the rules for holing the charge simply say touch spells. Remember above it says ranged touch spells, and melee touch spells are both touch spells.

One assumption for the type of action the touch attack is, is that it's a free action, like retrieving matieral components (see spell components p140). That would make sense, but would also allow a cleric for example cast harm, then take a 5' step before delivering without drawing an attack of opportunity. The question remains about what type of action is it if it's held. Does it become a standard attack action, or does it remain a free action, allowing you to perform some other standard action before or after the attack?
 
Last edited:

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top