Weird one - TWF and throwing in melee

Zaruthustran said:
Fighting with two weapons gives you an extra attack. Rapid Shot gives you an extra ranged attack. Both give -2 to all attacks made that round.

So, say you have a +1 BAB, TWF, ambi, Rapid Shot, and are wielding two daggers. You can get up to 3 attacks that round. All attacks are at -3.

Here's the math:
*Full melee attack at +1 BAB gives you one melee attack at +1.
*Fighting with two light weapons and having TWF+Ambi gives -2 to all attacks and an additional melee attack.
*Rapid Shot gives you -2 to all attacks and an additional ranged attack.

TOTAL: 3 attacks, all at -3. Two melee and a ranged, or one melee and 2 ranged (leaving you with empty hands).

I thought that fighting with two weapons limited you to melee attacks, but that rule's not in the SRD. The SRD only mentions a generic "attack", and doesn't specify melee or ranged. So, if you've got Quickdraw and Rapid Shot you can make 3 thrown attacks at 1st level (penalties reduced by TWF and Ambi).

Fighting with two weapons doesn't limit you to melee only, but the "Two Weapon fighting" feat only reduces the penalties on melee attacks, it won't reduce the penalties on any ranged attack.

In your example the extra ranged attack would be at a -5, while the two melee attacks would be at a -3.

The rule is in the SRD, it's just not in the feat section. It's in the equipment section, in the Heavy Crossbow description. Don't ask me why.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Caliban said:


Fighting with two weapons doesn't limit you to melee only, but the "Two Weapon fighting" feat only reduces the penalties on melee attacks, it won't reduce the penalties on any ranged attack.

In your example the extra ranged attack would be at a -5, while the two melee attacks would be at a -3.

The rule is in the SRD, it's just not in the feat section. It's in the equipment section, in the Heavy Crossbow description. Don't ask me why.

That makes sense. Thanks for the clarification.
 

nest part

cool ok. Thanks for the help with that people. SO we have the penalty figured out, now what about the second part?
Someone already mentioned that the returning weapon comes back the initiative one before yours and will return before the free action part of that round, but can you make a free action in some else's round?

Example: Player init 16, last round released returning throwing axe, next round, at init 18 free action to return enchanted handaxe to glove, init 17 returning throwing axe returns to hand and init 16 players does what they feel like again. At all times, with the offhand parry, they get their bonus as they wield something in their offhand.

Something else I just thought of, as they are throwing the offhand weapon (ranged attack) if they are throwing into melee, that would mean they would also have to take the -4 penalty if an ally was in the way, correct? Unless of course they had Precise Shot. Otherwise it would be a -8 penalty to throw that weapon. Therefore would it be worth it.
 


Someone already mentioned that the returning weapon comes back the initiative one before yours and will return before the free action part of that round, but can you make a free action in some else's round?

Free actions can only be done on your turn, so no.

Example: Player init 16, last round released returning throwing axe, next round, at init 18 free action to return enchanted handaxe to glove, init 17 returning throwing axe returns to hand and init 16 players does what they feel like again. At all times, with the offhand parry, they get their bonus as they wield something in their offhand.

As previously stated, free actions can only occur on your turn. However, I also don't think Returning weapons return at a specific initiative segment (e.g. if you are at init 16, they don't return at init 17). Rather, immediately before you act, the weapon appears in hand. In effect, it returns on your initiative segment the moment before you act. It is similar to a Monk's Stunning Attack. The opponent is stunned all the way until the moment before the monk acts again.



Slander
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top