Wow- How did I miss this all these years??

Quartz said:
Granted, but you're not adding the whole of your bonus. You take the better, as if it were cast by yourself.

That's not what the feat says.

Otherwise a mage with Int 19 (+4) could scribe a scroll of Meteor Swarm (standard DC 23) then immediately cast it with DC 27, as if the mage had an Int of 26.

No, he casts it with a DC of 27, as if he had an Int of 19 and was adjusting the normal scroll DC by his key ability modifier.

-Hyp.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Zurai said:
At the cost of two feats, two days of crafting, 153 xp, and 1,912.5 gold.
The question is whether you consider "add your own intelligence modifier" to mean add your own as opposed to the normal one, or whether you think it's just adding your int again.

In any case, I consider this to follow in spirit from the rule that two different instances of untyped bonuses from the same source don't stack. You're adding Int modifiers to DC here, and intuitively only one applies.

It doesn't sound like a well thought-out feat in any case.
 

eamon said:
The question is whether you consider "add your own intelligence modifier" to mean add your own as opposed to the normal one, or whether you think it's just adding your int again.

In any case, I consider this to follow in spirit from the rule that two different instances of untyped bonuses from the same source don't stack. You're adding Int modifiers to DC here, and intuitively only one applies.

It doesn't sound like a well thought-out feat in any case.
Well, it does say in the item creation rules section
SAVING THROWS AGAINST MAGIC ITEM POWERS
Magic items produce spells or spell-like effects. For a saving throw against a spell or spell-like effect from a magic item, the DC is 10 + the level of the spell or effect + the ability modifier of the minimum ability score needed to cast that level of spell.
so, the ability modifier is already in there, so adding yours won't stack, but overlap, just like using a staff.
 

Kmart Kommando said:
Well, it does say in the item creation rules section
so, the ability modifier is already in there, so adding yours won't stack, but overlap, just like using a staff.

The staff text says that it uses your ability score to set the DC, and contrasts it with other magic items which use the minimum.

The Enhance Item text just says to adjust the DC by your key ability modifier; it makes no mention of using it to set the DC in the first place.

How do you rule the Marshal's Motivate Charisma aura, which applies the Marshal's Charisma bonus to his ally's Charisma-based checks? If I have a Cha of 14 and my Marshal ally has a Cha of 18, do I add +2, +4, or +6 to my Charisma checks - my bonus, his bonus, or both?

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
The staff text says that it uses your ability score to set the DC, and contrasts it with other magic items which use the minimum.

The Enhance Item text just says to adjust the DC by your key ability modifier; it makes no mention of using it to set the DC in the first place.

How do you rule the Marshal's Motivate Charisma aura, which applies the Marshal's Charisma bonus to his ally's Charisma-based checks? If I have a Cha of 14 and my Marshal ally has a Cha of 18, do I add +2, +4, or +6 to my Charisma checks - my bonus, his bonus, or both?
That's a good comparison, and indeed in the marshals case I let them stack. I still wouldn't let the DC improvements stack in this case, however, although I wouldn't be bothered much by the alternative.
 

Remove ads

Top