D&D 5E (2014) Action Surge Questions

Unless there has been an official ruling on the subject, I disagree with this. There is no blanket rule saying you can't cast more than one spell in the same turn. The only rule is that if you cast a spell as a bonus action, you can't cast another non-cantrip spell on the same turn. Action Surge is not a bonus action, so I would argue you can cast two spells with it.


From the v0.2 Basic DND Rules

Bonus Action
A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You
must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell,
provided that you haven’t already taken a bonus action
this turn. You can’t cast another spell during the same
turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.


Although it's covering Bonus Action casting, the rule does say only Cantrips with 1 action casting can be cast if another spell is cast in the same turn. Haste also specifically excludes Casting from the list of allowable things to do with its' extra action. My take is that it's one non-cantrip spell a turn.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

From the v0.2 Basic DND Rules

Bonus Action
A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You
must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell,
provided that you haven’t already taken a bonus action
this turn. You can’t cast another spell during the same
turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.


Although it's covering Bonus Action casting, the rule does say only Cantrips with 1 action casting can be cast if another spell is cast in the same turn. Haste also specifically excludes Casting from the list of allowable things to do with its' extra action. My take is that it's one non-cantrip spell a turn.

but the fighter thing grants you completely new Actions which have no caveats on what they can be used for. it's a houserule i use that dipping fighter doesn't make you a better caster, but the rules themselves allow it.
 


but the fighter thing grants you completely new Actions which have no caveats on what they can be used for. it's a houserule i use that dipping fighter doesn't make you a better caster, but the rules themselves allow it.

It could be argued in that case that the specific rule (Action Surge) counters the general rule (only 1 non-cantrip spell), too. Just something to think about.
 


Sadly, or not so sadly depending on your opinion, characters with Action Surge can perform feats of magic greater than any other spell caster in the game. They can cast two one action spells in a single turn, using their action and then their Action Surge. This has been confirmed by J. Crawford, a very pleasant fellow, on twitter. But wait, you say, that's only once per short rest with two levels of Fighter, so no big deal. Well, you won't be thinking that when my Big Baddie Fighter/Mage in full plate hits you with two 8d6 fireballs in one turn (evil DM laugh).
 

But the specifics of Action Surge say nothing about spellcasting at all. That doesn't sound specific enough to trump the 1-leveled-spell/turn rule.
 

But the specifics of Action Surge say nothing about spellcasting at all. That doesn't sound specific enough to trump the 1-leveled-spell/turn rule.

That's my read, as well.
I won't be allowing more than 1 level 1+ spell, and 1 bonus action spell, and 1 reaction spell per round from any given caster.
 

But the specifics of Action Surge say nothing about spellcasting at all. That doesn't sound specific enough to trump the 1-leveled-spell/turn rule.

The guy who is the ultimate arbiter of the rules says otherwise, in writing. You get another action from Action Surge. You can cast a spell in an action. Action Surge also says nothing about attacking with a weapon at all. Are you then going to rule you can't take more than one attack action with Action Surge, either?

In fact, Action Surge doesn't say you can actually do anything with that extra action.

If you don't allow casting a spell with Action Surge, you are free to do so, but you are altering the actual rules.
 

So what can I do as a bonus action exactly?

And my questions?


Jeremy Crawford [MENTION=4036]Jeremy[/MENTION]ECrawford
Follow
[MENTION=6681496]Ignatius[/MENTION]JRiell [MENTION=53947]Iron[/MENTION]wizard13 Action Surge gives you a second action, not a bonus action, so yes, you can use it to cast two spells.


7:07 PM - 21 Oct 2014
 

Remove ads

Top