Any way of Quarrying more than 1/round?

Mad Hamish

First Post
I've got a Battlefield Archer who can currently quarry 4 targets and I'm just about to get the level 20 attack that attacks each quarry target.

The problem is that's not going to be all that attractive an attack until I've got at least 3 enemies quarried which takes 3 rounds.
Are there any ways of applying a quarry condition more than 1 time per round?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Peerless Hunter, Epic Level feat.

Prereqs are Wis 17 and stuff you obviously must have. If you can quarry 4 enemies, then your Wisdom should also meet the prereqs.

It allows you to quarry two at once.
 

If you happened to be Drow, there is Dark Hunter. With good timing, you can get a good volley off with CA, and Prime Shot.

Or if you happen to have a primal multiclass (like the couple nice Shaman MC feats), you can choose Reincarnate Champion ED, and have past spirit Drow, to do the above.

Peerless Hunter is probably more straight forward though.
 

Compendium said:
Battlefield Experience (11th level): You can designate more than one creature as your quarry at a time, up to a number equal to your Wisdom modifier. In addition, any attack made against a quarry receives a +1 bonus to attack rolls.
Huh, I had read that to mean you can designate more than one creature at a time -- as in, you can pick up to (Wisdom) critters that are all equidistant (all closest). So you could do four at once, if you could position yourself such that four were equally close, and none were closer.

I can't see support for "one at a time, up to (Wis) total".

Cheers, -- N
 

Huh, I had read that to mean you can designate more than one creature at a time -- as in, you can pick up to (Wisdom) critters that are all equidistant (all closest). So you could do four at once, if you could position yourself such that four were equally close, and none were closer.

I can't see support for "one at a time, up to (Wis) total".

Cheers, -- N

I don't see anywhere in there that it changes the base power Hunter's Quarry. Without such a change how would you designate more than one quarry per minor action spent? I think he read it correctly, but if he doesn't have to move to make two opponents equally close he could mark 2 per round and still attack. Or did they errata Hunter's Quarry to be usable only once per round? To me the real trick to this is getting each target to be marked (quarry) to be the closest opponent to the PC to meet the limitations of HQ. (Probably easier for 2-weapon Rangers vs. bow Rangers)
 

Huh, I had read that to mean you can designate more than one creature at a time -- as in, you can pick up to (Wisdom) critters that are all equidistant (all closest). So you could do four at once, if you could position yourself such that four were equally close, and none were closer.

I can't see support for "one at a time, up to (Wis) total".

Cheers, -- N

I originally read it the same as you... "You can designate more than one creature as your quarry [in a single action]" as opposed to "You can [have] more than one creature as your quarry at a time."

The wording is... poor, since it allows for either interpretation. These days, I'm inclined to agree that you can't designate multiple quarries at once. But until it sees errata, there really is no way to know for sure - either interpretation could be correct by the wording.
 

I originally read it the same as you... "You can designate more than one creature as your quarry [in a single action]" as opposed to "You can [have] more than one creature as your quarry at a time."
Yes, that first one is exactly how I've been reading it.

And I agree that there's no way to tell which reading was intended.

"One more for the errata pile", -- N
 

I originally read it the same as you... "You can designate more than one creature as your quarry [in a single action]" as opposed to "You can [have] more than one creature as your quarry at a time."

The wording is... poor, since it allows for either interpretation. These days, I'm inclined to agree that you can't designate multiple quarries at once. But until it sees errata, there really is no way to know for sure - either interpretation could be correct by the wording.

I agree that the wording may be poor and can even see how you arrive at the alternate meaning or interpretation, but I again have to emphasize that the power does not give you a method of marking quarries nor does it mention anything about modifying Hunter's Quarry to allow you to mark more than one creature at a time. With specific beats general and a lack of mention of HQ I believe you have to fall back to the other meaning (of you can have more than one creature as your quarry at a time).

To me the first meaning would require it to be worded something like this:

Battlefield Experience (11th level) said:
Using your Hunter's Quarry you can designate up to a number of creatures equal to your Wisdom modifier as your quarry. In addition, any attack made against a quarry receives a +1 bonus to attack rolls.
 

I again have to emphasize that the power does not give you a method of marking quarries nor does it mention anything about modifying Hunter's Quarry to allow you to mark more than one creature at a time.
With due respect, that last bit is pretty much exactly what it says.
Compendium said:
You can designate more than one creature as your quarry at a time, up to a number equal to your Wisdom modifier.
I guess you could argue that "designate" isn't the same as "designate using Hunter's Quarry" -- but then what the heck does "designate" mean? There's no other way to get something to be your quarry.

Cheers, -- N
 

I agree that the wording may be poor and can even see how you arrive at the alternate meaning or interpretation, but I again have to emphasize that the power does not give you a method of marking quarries nor does it mention anything about modifying Hunter's Quarry to allow you to mark more than one creature at a time. With specific beats general and a lack of mention of HQ I believe you have to fall back to the other meaning (of you can have more than one creature as your quarry at a time).

I... really disagree. Even though I don't feel that was the intended interpretation, it pretty specifically allows you to mark more than one creature at a time. (By that first interpretation). Requiring it to specifically mention Hunter's Quarry or present this change as a unique power is playing fast and loose with the rules to suit your own interpretation, and applying that same logic, and the need for such strict wording, would render dozens of other abilities meaningless.
 

Remove ads

Top