Do the spells of a slain spellcaster end the instant he is killed?


log in or register to remove this ad

Ottergame said:
To me, it just makes sense for Heat Metal to continue. The target area only should matter when the spell first goes off, not where the people move to later. It just strikes me as right.

So what's wrong with saying "The term 'creature' only should matter when the spell first goes off, not whether he's still a 'creature' later. It just strikes me as right", and allowing the dead body to benefit from the +4 Armor Bonus from Mage Armor?

What's wrong with saying "The term 'willing' only should matter when the spell first goes off, not whether he becomes 'unwilling' later. It just strikes me as right", and letting the wizard continue to Levitate the guy who's changed his mind?

As for the secodn example, since the club is magical now, the Shillelagh will fail. If Shillehlagh is cast first, it's effects will be surpressed by the magic weapon spell.

What if instead of GMW, it's Light cast on the club? Does the Light spell make it not-a-non-magical-club?

-Hyp.
 

Dracuwulf said:
What about Silence??? Silence on a creature that later dies?? Does it continue?

I already answered. since it targets creatures and objects (and empty space) I see no reason for it to stop.
 

Mage Armor, like any other spell, doesn't care if the target dies (or becomes otherwise invalid) after the time of casting.

The ammount by which one must twist the rules in order to get Mage Armor to stop functioning is proof enough that the argument is unsound.
 

Ki Ryn said:
Mage Armor, like any other spell, doesn't care if the target dies (or becomes otherwise invalid) after the time of casting.

The ammount by which one must twist the rules in order to get Mage Armor to stop functioning is proof enough that the argument is unsound.

So if a Druid Wildshapes into a cat, casts Animal Growth on himself with Natural Spell, and reverts to his natural form, he'll retain the size increase, DR, ability modifiers, etc in his humanoid form?

If I cast Hold Person on a human, and his ally Polymorphs him into a ogre, he's still held even though his Type has changed to Giant?

That leaves the Awaken loophole open, of course.

-Hyp.
 

Do wild shape and polymorph actually change your type now?

If they do, then my druid will be very happy when he gets access to Animal Growth.
 


Hypersmurf said:
So if a Druid Wildshapes into a cat, casts Animal Growth on himself with Natural Spell, and reverts to his natural form, he'll retain the size increase, DR, ability modifiers, etc in his humanoid form?

If I cast Hold Person on a human, and his ally Polymorphs him into a ogre, he's still held even though his Type has changed to Giant?
Certainly. They were valid targets at the time the spell was cast. Continuous target evaluation leads to absurd results, such as spells failing when the caster or target moves out of range. It also adds unnecessary complexity (unless you prefer D&D to be more like Magic).

Change the latter to "If I cast Hold Person on a human, and teleport away, is he still held?" and ask if you like the result of continuous target evaluation.
 

foxylady said:
Certainly. They were valid targets at the time the spell was cast. Continuous target evaluation leads to absurd results, such as spells failing when the caster or target moves out of range. It also adds unnecessary complexity (unless you prefer D&D to be more like Magic).

So Shillelagh followed by Greater Magic Weapon can give me a +3 superclub, rather than just +1, but Greater Magic Weapon followed by Shillelagh means I waste the second spell?

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
So Shillelagh followed by Greater Magic Weapon can give me a +3 superclub, rather than just +1, but Greater Magic Weapon followed by Shillelagh means I waste the second spell?

By the rules I would say "yes" to this. I know it's one of your favorite examples, but I, for example, am really not bothered by it.

In my last game a sorcerer/fighter initiating battle cast chill touch and then shield... oops, he loses the chill touch. If he'd done it in the opposite order things would have been fine. There are going to be some magical effects which are order-dependent, and the spellcasting players just need to deal with them.
 

Remove ads

Top