FAQ answer about Call Spirit Companion

DracoSuave

First Post
3. Does a shaman’s spirit companion provoke opportunity attacks?

The spirit companion is a conjuration, not a creature, so it doesn’t provoke opportunity attacks. Unless otherwise noted, a noncreature doesn’t provoke opportunity attacks.


Dunno if this got posted anywhere else, but the FAQ is in. Spirit Companions are -not- creatures.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

But the power already states it was a conjuration power.. And i thought it was already stated conjurations don't provoke..
 


Huh.

"...a noncreature doesn’t provoke opportunity attacks."

That's not what the rules say. The RAW says "enemies" provoke opportunity attacks. So a conjuration isn't an enemy?
 

Huh.

"...a noncreature doesn’t provoke opportunity attacks."

That's not what the rules say. The RAW says "enemies" provoke opportunity attacks. So a conjuration isn't an enemy?

PHB page 57: "'Enemy' or 'enemies' means a creature or creatures that aren’t your allies (whether those creatures are hostile toward you or not)."

Thus, a conjuration isn't an enemy, and doesn't provoke. All perfectly consistent with RAW - and indeed, the only real way to read it.
 


Remove ads

Top