Flanking with a ranged weapon?

Ganadai

First Post
Can you flank while wielding a ranged weapon? I had a DM tell me that you do not threaten with ranged weapons, and that while wielding a ranged weapon I can not gain combat advantage from flanking or provide a flank for allies. I asked him to show me where it says that, and showed him that the rules for flank say nothing of the sort, but it didn't change his mind. So is he right, or is there something I'm missing?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

You are correct. He probably has left over notions from 3.x. It happens a lot.

Point out to him that you can make unarmed attacks as basic attacks (punch, kick, head butt, etc), even if you are wielding a ranged weapon. So you can make (unarmed) opportunity attacks while wielding a ranged weapon, and you can flank while wielding a ranged weapon.
 

Opportunity attacks (p290) are a type of opportunity action (pp268-9), which by default you can use once per each other combatant's turn. By default, an opportunity attack is a melee basic attack (p287). As a special note, you can use unarmed attacks to make melee basic attacks.

Therefore, if you are holding nothing, you can use an unarmed attack to make opportunity attacks. If you are holding something that isn't a melee weapon, you can use it as an improvised melee weapon (p219), or you can make an unarmed attack with a kick, headbutt, or similar (p216). Hopefully this is sufficient evidence to establish that you can make opportunity attacks regardless of what kind of weapons, implements, or stuffed animals might be occupying your hands.

Note that several conditions (p277) explicitly prevent you from taking opportunity actions.

Flanking (p285) has two requirements. You and an ally must be on opposite sides of the target, and both you and the ally must be "able to attack the enemy, whether you're armed or unarmed. If there's no line of effect between your enemy and either you or your ally, you don't flank. If you're affected by an effect that prevents you from taking opportunity actions, you don't flank."

Ranged weapon or not, if you have line of effect and aren't affected by an adverse condition, you provide a flank for your allies.

t~
 

Does this mean you can provide flanking using a ranged weapon without being adjacent to the target?

ASCII art:

Rng - - - - NPC Rog

The Rng is four squares away, the Rog is adjacent, is the NPC flanked?
 

You must be adjacent.

First line under flanking (page 285, PHB):

"One of the simplest combat tactics is for you and an ally to move to flanking positions adjacent to an enemy."


Further down...

"Opposite Sides: To flank an enemy, you and an ally must be adjacent to the enemy and on opposite sides or corners of the enemy's space."

Carl
 

Remove ads

Top