Gaping "Ready Action" hole

He readies the action in round 1. He takes the readied action in round 2, effectively taking his turn. He interrupts Monster 4's turn and takes his own turn.

That's why you move your initiative order to that place, because you just took your turn.
No: you just completed your turn. You didn't get another. The Readied Action is part of your current turn, not part of your next one. You don't "borrow" actions from your next turn to ready an action.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

No: you just completed your turn. You didn't get another. The Readied Action is part of your current turn, not part of your next one. You don't "borrow" actions from your next turn to ready an action.


I don’t agree with that. When you ready you are creating a custom 'immediate reaction'. So you are not still taking your turn nor are you borrowing from the future. As further proof of that you cannot take an 'immediate reaction' during your own turn so we know for a fact it CANT be part of your current turn.

edit: this thread makes my head hurt.
 


I can think of two possible house rules that might fix the problem.

One is to combine the ready and delay actions. We eliminate the ready action from the game. Instead when you delay, you set conditions to trigger it, and when it goes off, it follows the current timing and initiative rules for readied actions (ie - it's an immediate reaction, your initiative is set to immediately before whatever you react to, you can interrupt movement etc). The problem raised in this thread goes away, because you can't ready part of your turn.

It makes readied actions a bit more powerful (because you're doing more with them), but at the same time it reduces the game's complexity by eliminating the difference between ready and delay. It also reduces the amount of... um... "context switching" - ie: how often players start and end their interaction with the game, which should speed play slightly.

The other option is to say that end-of-turn effects end when they are least beneficial. Ie - buff-type end of your turn effects inflicted by or on you cease when your normal turn ends and also when you take the readied action, but saves and penalties that last until the end of your turn are taken after you perform the readied action. That seems a lot more complex though.
 

After reading the OP about 5 times I finally figured out why the heck I did not understand what he was going on about. I already DM moving your intitive in anyway with the delay rules. I just assumed this was exactly how it worked already and I am betting RnD intended it to be that way.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top