Ignoble Death by Ray of Frost!?!


log in or register to remove this ad



Twinned spells would get sneak attack for each, Split spells would not. A twinned spell is casting a spell twice. Split is one spell with 2 targets. If you get SA damage on partial actions and free actions then you get SA damage for twinned spells.
 

Archer said:
Twinned spells would get sneak attack for each, Split spells would not. A twinned spell is casting a spell twice.

Twinning a spell is not casting it twice. You use up one action and one spell slot, and cast it once. It simply takes effect two times. You get sneak attack damage once, just as with Manyshot, where you fire two arrows with the one action but only get sneak attack damage once.
 
Last edited:

Archer said:
Twinned spells would get sneak attack for each, Split spells would not. A twinned spell is casting a spell twice. Split is one spell with 2 targets. If you get SA damage on partial actions and free actions then you get SA damage for twinned spells.

Nope.

As a general rule any metamagicked spell can be countered by the base spell. Your Twinned Ray of Frost can be countered by a single boring Ray of Frost -- this is explicitly stated in the feat description. Therefore you are only casting the spell once, even if the magical effects are doubled. If the spell were being cast twice, a single RoF could only counter half the Twinned spell.
 

If you use a Split Ray to attack two targets, how is Sneak Attack affected? Do you choose one target to receive SA damage before making the RTA roll? After? Do you roll damage plus SA damage for the spell, then split it between the two?

-Hyp.
 


Split Ray

Since you make attack rolls simultaneously in one action (cast and attack), you get only one sneak attack. Same as throwing 3 shuriken with single attack action, or casting Orb-type spells. This rule applies each time you cast spell which has multiple targets and all attacks use the same base attack and thus happen simultaneously.

Z.
 

Yup, but say I'm casting Fire Orb, and targetting two creatures.

I make a RTA roll for each creature, and if it hits, the creature takes damage.

Only one of the Orbs can generate SA damage. Do I have to say "I'm attacking creature A and creature B, with SA on creature A", and then make my attack rolls?

Or do I make the attack rolls, and then decide where the SA damage goes based on which Orbs hit?

With shuriken or Manyshot, it's not an issue - everything's targetted at the same creature. If no shuriken hit, no SA damage. If one or more shuriken hit, the creature takes one lot of SA damage, regardless of which shuriken hit.

-Hyp.
 

Remove ads

Top