Immediate Reaction Race Condition


log in or register to remove this ad


Thanks, all, especially Nytmare. That's pretty much how we played it and the DM felt that the bad guys got kinda screwed. I think so, too, because it's a little wonky that when they ready to trigger off the first event (move) they lose their attacks, but when they ready to trigger of the second event (attack) they do not lose their attacks. In other words, when they try to act faster they fail to act fast enough. It simply doesn't make sense that way.

Quite honestly, I think the fallout from this will be that the DM doesn't try to position bad guys so carefully anymore. It doesn't work out from their perspective, but more importantly it's such a PITA to adjudicate.
 

I'm not 100% sure of this. I don't know if I've ever seen that rule in a book or anything, and it could be "rank by dexterity score" instead of initiative order.
 

Yield your Ground doesn't trigger by attacks. It triggers by movement.

So, you can't interrupt attacks with it.

If they'd triggered their readies by attacks, you'd have moved away when the third one moved close. In this case, however, their readied action is not lost, so they can still use it if it triggers.

If they'd triggered their readies by movement, you chose to ignore movement A and B. In this case, the DM adjudicates what the order is. Not sure how I'd adjudicate this. But either way, you'd not be able to negate any attacks with this, their readied actions would still be valid. And based on what the readied action's trigger is, they might attack someone else in range. 'When an enemy is in range, and Charlie is in position' is a valid trigger, and wouldn't be wasted if you moved away when Charlie enters position.
 
Last edited:


Bah, me confusing Enter the Fray (which was in a recent discussion) with Yield Ground.

Bah.

In -that- case, either the monsters trigger their attacks from enemy C's movement and you Yield at the first attack, negating them all, or C attacks you, A and B are triggered, and you Yield to the first one that attacks you chronologically, and negate all the attacks.

No big deal either way.
 

I've read it somewhere in official materials, an hint or example or something to that effect of monsters readying attacks based on the attacks of other monsters. So to re-iterate what the others have said, readied attacks can be triggered by anything the creature can perceive typically.

In this case, I'd rule (didn't read every response so someone may have already said this as well) is that the two ready their attack based on the attack of the third. One of them attacks, doesn't matter which one, Yield Ground kicks in at that point. Their actions aren't simultaneous in other words, they're just occurring in the same 6 second segment. One of them attacks the other two see that and they start their attacks but by then Yield Ground has kicked off.

Or that's how I'd do it, right or wrong. :)
 


Remove ads

Top