D&D 5E Is D&D becoming TOO popular (More DMs Needed)?

techno

Explorer
I recently had several couples in our neighborhood ask me to DM a game for them. I am running 2 separate groups to try and accommodate everyone. Few have ever played before. Yesterday, several more neighbors asked if I could run a game for them too. So, I am looking at starting a 3rd game. Our church youth group leaders asked if I would run a one-shot D&D game for their teens as an activity. Maybe this is just a fluke, but I cannot believe how popular D&D is in my area. There seems to be lots of people who want play (most with no RPG experience) because of watching games being played online. I have been playing D&D for 37 years and I have never seen anything like this wave of interest in RPGs. I don't think I can take on another group and so others will have to step up and DM at some point. I am wondering if anyone else is having more requests from friends to play than they can handle or if this is just an isolated situation. It seems like a "golden age" of D&D to me.

Last edited:

cbwjm

Seb-wejem
Went from a group of 4 players to 6 or 7. Doesn't sound as big a number as what you have, but people are definitely wanting to play. One was even because he watched critical roll. The good thing is, 2 new players also wanted to have a go at DMing.

Calithorne

Explorer
I'm actually having the opposite problem. It used to be I was the only DM, because no one else wanted to do it. Now, everyone in my group wants to DM and it's hard to squeeze in everyone's campaign. I haven't DM'd for months now, and I'm getting antsy.

Hussar

Legend
The nice thing about 5e is that the bar to DMing is a LOT lower than in previous editions. There's just not that many things that you need to be concerned about. Which hopefully will translate into more and more people taking a stab at sitting in the big Daddy chair.

Iosue

Legend