jgbrowning, Rystil Arden, and Hypersmurf talk amongst themselves

Hypersmurf said:
True, and I agree that the Vampire can't issue any more commands to the giant.

I could see arguments either way as to whether the giant must continue to follow the command he was issued prior to becoming a giant... but the line that says he continues refers to 'a dominated creature', not 'a dominated humanoid creature', and the giant is still a dominated creature... just one that the vampire can no longer control the actions of.

What would you rule on the sensory impressions issue? Can the vampire take a full round action to receive sensory impressions from the giant?

-Hyp.

I think they left out "humanoid" because they referred to it to begin with. I think the vamp couldn't give new controls, the guy wouldn't have to follow the last command, the vamp couldn't have any sensory impressions, but if the guy was foolish enough to transform back into a humanoid he could be dominated again.



joe b.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Rystil Arden said:
To parallel Smurf's example, imagine a spell that infects any humanoid with the deadly disease Demon Chills. The disease itself affects any type, but this spell only infects humanoids. Now if I've already been hit by this spell, can I just turn into a Giant and be cured? Its like in the old Final Fantasies when you could just equip the Ribbon and make all the status ailments go away without paying for the cure items.

I'd say you're disease free. I don't know about the FF reference. :)


joe b.
 


jgbrowning said:
I think they left out "humanoid" because they referred to it to begin with. I think the vamp couldn't give new controls, the guy wouldn't have to follow the last command, the vamp couldn't have any sensory impressions, but if the guy was foolish enough to transform back into a humanoid he could be dominated again.



joe b.
Minor rules quibble: There is no such effect as "Dominated" so the word dominated must instead refer to "affected by the Dominate Person spell." So he's dominated the whole time, no matter what he's allowed to do, for what its worth.
 




I'd rule that the spell continues to affect the target without limitation whether he's in giant form or not.

From metamorphosis: "but retain your own Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma scores." and "You acquire the physical qualities of the new form while retaining your own mind."

Dominate requires a will save. Clearly it's a mental effect, and your mental attributes are unaffected by the metamorphosis. You're a giant on the outside, but a person on the inside. And like my momma always told me, it's what's inside you that's important :)
 

Rodrigo Istalindir said:
I'd rule that the spell continues to affect the target whether he's in giant form or not.

From metamorphosis: "but retain your own Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma scores." and "You acquire the physical qualities of the new form while retaining your own mind."

Dominate requires a will save. Clearly it's a mental effect, and your mental attributes are unaffected by the metamorphosis. You're a giant on the outside, but a person on the inside. And like my momma always told me, it's what's inside you that's important :)

If your type changes, you are the new type for all effects and purposes.

joe b.
 

jgbrowning said:
I'd say you're disease free. I don't know about the FF reference. :)


joe b.
I can't understand how you came to the conclusion that this would end the disease. Its a disease that affects Giants. What if I was a Giant to begin with and I caught the disease (as it is contagious) from my friend the human who was infected by the spell?
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top