Limits on heavy thrown weapons?

Just give a player who specializes in throwing weapons a magical weapon (+1 is only level 1) as soon as possible and the "problems" go away. ;)

Besides, page 217 doesn't say that ONLY light thrown weapons can be used with close attacks, in fact I'm sure that it just references to the rogue who can use his ranged powers only with light thrown weapons.

Bob, do you know that magical thrown weapons return automatically? The designers seem to have had the same problems as you described and build in this reasonable fix. 8D
I must have missed that. I will look again (I assume its in the PHB somewhere?). Thanks for pointing out
 

log in or register to remove this ad

An attack is just a specific case of an action. You can't make an attack that isn't an action; even free action attacks would technically be an action.
I disagree. Twin Strike is a single action composed of two attacks, not two actions. Every attack is part of an action, but not every attack is an action.
Therefore, don't worry: Quick Draw will cover you. And it would cover you, too, if you wanted to whip out your weapon fast as part of an Intimidate action.
I agree there.
If you're playing an axe-hurling Ranger, just grab this feat and call it covered. Otherwise, it'll come down to how much of a stickler your DM is about draw actions for combat flavor.

-Dan'L
And that's exactly what I'm worried about. I'm going to run into some "official RPGA" stickler whose not going to "call it covered." I can talk my own DM into practically anything, but his games are short, he's often late or missing, and I'll be taking over DM responsibilities from him in a few weeks.

A big part of the appeal of 4E, indeed, a major design goal, the increased chance that the combat rules play pretty much the same no matter what table you sit down to. Not your friends' campaigns, mind you, but a game at a convention or game store. 'Cause that's what I got right now.

Smeelbo
 

Sorry, I wasn't clear:

If you have Quick Draw, you are absolutely covered. With Quick Draw, you may draw an item as part of the action for which it is used. Your attack is an action, usually a standard action. If you need to draw multiple thrown weapons to use them as part of the attack's action, and you have the Quick Draw feat, you may draw as many as your character owns, if you have enough targets that need hitting. You are covered by the RAW.

My "otherwise" referred to If you don't have Quick Draw, because you're right: the RAW do seem to indicate that you are NOT covered. That is, by RAW, without the Quick Draw feat you must have thrown weapons -- both light and heavy -- already drawn for them to be used as part of a power with multiple targets. Having said that, though, there seems to be enough wiggle in the interpretation of RAI that you might be able to get your DM to overlook it. I wouldn't count on it in RPGA events, though.

-Dan'L
 

You guys are being way too technical. This isn't a competitive game you're playing, it's a cooperative game. Details such as these should be swept under the table. You throw as many axes as your powers let you. Quickdraw eliminates the need to have a weapon readied before you use the power. Magic thrown weapons return anytime you use them in an attack where you throw them, ranged, area, or close. You consider can consider every attack made with a power to be made with the same magical thrown weapon, heavy or light. Don't annoy your DM with these details, and don't be the DM that annoys his players with them.
 

Remove ads

Top