Marking and AoE

DimitriX

First Post
Let's say a creature marks a wizard. Because of the mark, the wizard gets a -2 to attacks that doesn't include the creature that marks it. If the wizard uses some kind of AoE, such as scorching blast, and the marking creature is in the area of effect, does the wizard get a -2 to any of the attack rolls because the marking creature was in the AoE or does the wizard get -2 to all other creatures except the marking creature? The confusion is due to the fact that one effect generates multiple attack rolls.
 

log in or register to remove this ad



I'd say the wizard gets the -2 penalty for all the other targets, because he gets distracted by the one who "marks" him.
 

According to the Dungeon Master's Quick Start Rules in KotS, page 13 in the adventure booklet,
Marked
You take a -2 penalty to attack rolls if your attack doesn't include the creature that marked you.
emphasis mine. It doesn't say "directed at", it says "include".

edit: Of course, as DM you can always change the rules.
 

DimitriX said:
Let's say a creature marks a wizard. Because of the mark, the wizard gets a -2 to attacks that doesn't include the creature that marks it. If the wizard uses some kind of AoE, such as scorching blast, and the marking creature is in the area of effect, does the wizard get a -2 to any of the attack rolls because the marking creature was in the AoE or does the wizard get -2 to all other creatures except the marking creature? The confusion is due to the fact that one effect generates multiple attack rolls.
I honestly don't see the confusion.

The wizard makes an attack. The attack includes the marking enemy. Ergo, the wizard suffers no penalty.
 

thalmin said:
Marked
You take a -2 penalty to attack rolls if your attack doesn't include the creature that marked you.
That would than allow the fighter to use cleave to just add the secondary damage on the target that marked him, doing the bulk on a target of his choice. Something else than just using it for minion killing :).
 

As a tangent to this, I've been wondering about the Eye of Flame's* eyestalk attack:

:ranged: Eyestalks Standard; 2 of the following, diff targets. No telekinesis or fear more than once per action.
Fire: Rg 8; +15 vs Ref; 2d8+5 fire
Telekinesis: Rg 8; +15 vs Fort; 1d8+5 AND push/pull 4
Fear: Rg 8; +15 vs Will; –2 atk against this creature rest of encounter AND must move spd away next turn

If the EOF is marked by a defender, does he get the penalty when it inevitable shoots a non-marker (because it can't fire both rays at the defender), or does the power count as one single attack which includes the defender as long as he gets one of the rays?

*) Dungeons of Dread RPG stats
 

gscholt said:
That would than allow the fighter to use cleave to just add the secondary damage on the target that marked him, doing the bulk on a target of his choice. Something else than just using it for minion killing :).

But if the fighter misses, the adjacent creature doesn't get hit and is thus not included in the attack. Since you don't know if you hit before rolling, the -2 still applies. (But Divine Challenge might not.) ;)
 

I would assume the latter Hellzon, since the ability used is :ranged: Eyestalks, a ranged attack. That is has two targets doesn't make it 2 attacks imo.
 

Remove ads

Top