• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

Module Layout: what's important to you?

Kzach

Banned
Banned
I, like many others, would like to publish a module.

I have a lot of material created and I even have what I feel is a unique spin on module design, as well as a few new system mechanics that I honestly feel will be a major selling point.

But like many others, I've never done this before. If I was to follow the layout and design principles of other modules, this would be much, much easier. So for me, a key hurdle is to simply come up with the layout. I find myself somewhat stumped with 'layout block'.

Part of the reason I feel a need to depart from the module layouts of the past is that I've seen a lot of criticism levelled at such layouts. People can be so mean.

So I figured it would make for a good conversation point. As a consumer, what aspects of previous module layouts have you liked and what aspects would you like to see in future modules? Help us budding authors kick-start our creative gearboxes so that you can benefit from better module layout. Tell us what you want!

Last edited:

Dice4Hire

First Post
I would like the page to flow from story, to details to encounter or PCs/monsters. And I would like each page to follow a similar layout, so I can easily find the information I want.

With many WOTC modules, the map, the monsters and details are scattered over the page in different places on each set of 2. pages.

It is like they asked the artist where they would like the artwork to sit, and then threw darts for the rest of it.

I would especially like if each section were coded in some way, by color, or border or placement (like I said above) so it is easy to know what section has what information.

Blackbrrd

First Post