Monks and 2 weapon fighting

focallength

First Post
Ok heres a question for all you rules lawyers out there. If a monk takes the two weapon fighting feat, will this allow him (her) an extra attack when using flurry of blows? The two weapon fighting feat allowing an "off-hand" attack. I know flurry of blows is basically the same thing as 2-weapon fighting just better and this may be splitting hairs. But Im inclined to let a monk use flurry of blows and get an additional off hand attack with 2 weapon fighting. I.E two punches and a off hand kick (or 3-4 kicks and a off hand head butt).
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I predict this being moved to the Rules forum quickly...

This has been clarified in the D&D RUles FAQ. Basically, yes, Flurry and TWF stack. You must Flurry as your main weapon (taking the penalty for it) and take the -2 for TWF (with a light weapon).

So a Monk 1 that has TWF and wielded 2 kama would have 3 attacks (2 for Flurry and 1 for TWF), each at -4 to hit (-2 Flurry, -2 TWF).
 


Anyway, what will really bother you is whether a monk using a reach weapon threatens all squares at 5' and al squares at 10'... ;)
 




Patryn of Elvenshae said:
Unless, during his previous turn, he decided to "fight this way" - gaining extra attacks from the Two-Weapon Fighting rules.

Ah, 'fight this way' rears its ugly head again.

I see no requirement for you to take the extra attack to be fighting this way. Just like you don't have to get a +2 flanking bonus to be flanking, right? ;)

We've been over this, haven't we? ;)

Oh, repeatedly ;)

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
Ah, 'fight this way' rears its ugly head again.

I see no requirement for you to take the extra attack to be fighting this way. Just like you don't have to get a +2 flanking bonus to be flanking, right? ;)

A touch! A palpable touch! :D

To analogize, "Using the TWF rules to gain extra attacks = Fighting this way" is, to my mind, the "line test."
 

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
A touch! A palpable touch! :D

To analogize, "Using the TWF rules to gain extra attacks = Fighting this way" is, to my mind, the "line test."

Whereas to me, 'wielding a second weapon in your off-hand' is the line test, and 'gain an extra attack with that weapon' is the +2 bonus. It's available, but you're not required to avail yourself of it.

-Hyp.
 

Remove ads

Top