Monks and Two-Weapon Fighting

Camarath said:
Can you explain why this would be the case?
Because when you fight with two weapons, you can't use the same weapon twice over. Imagine a fighter with a sword and dagger. It'd be silly think that you could use two weapon fighting to make both your primary and off-hand attacks with the just the sword, or just the dagger.

When a monk uses the flurry and fights with two weapons, it's the same idea. The flurry is your primary "hand," so any weapon you use as part of your flurry simply may not be your off-hand attack, and the weapon you use for your off-hand attack may not be part of your primary attack routine (unarmed strikes are the one exception to this rule -- any character, monk or not, can make unarmed strikes for both their primary and off-hand attacks in a round). The only reason this needs to even be mentioned is because a monk using a flurry has the special advantage of being able to change weapons mid-attack-routine, and use several different weapons as primary attacks all in the same round, whereas other characters must make all their primary attacks with a single weapon.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

Jack Daniel said:
... whereas other characters must make all their primary attacks with a single weapon.

That rule would make a throwing specialist rather problematical, wouldn't it?

And where's the problem with using iterative attacks to stab with longspear, drop longspear, quickdraw flail, 5' step, and make the next attack with the flail?

-Hyp.
 

Jack Daniel said:
Because when you fight with two weapons, you can't use the same weapon twice over. Imagine a fighter with a sword and dagger. It'd be silly think that you could use two weapon fighting to make both your primary and off-hand attacks with the just the sword, or just the dagger.
Since TWF grants you additional attacks with a second weapon wielded in your off-hand you are correct that you may not use the same weapon to to make your off-hand attacks as you used to make your attacks with your primary hand because if the weapon is the same then it can not be a second weapon as TWF specifies.
Jack Daniel said:
When a monk uses the flurry and fights with two weapons, it's the same idea. The flurry is your primary "hand," so any weapon you use as part of your flurry simply may not be your off-hand attack, and the weapon you use for your off-hand attack may not be part of your primary attack routine (unarmed strikes are the one exception to this rule -- any character, monk or not, can make unarmed strikes for both their primary and off-hand attacks in a round).
I do not believe it is the same. Could you point me to text that states if a weapon that is wield in one's off-hand and is used to make an attack not granted by TWF it may not be used to make an attack granted by TWF?
Jack Daniel said:
The only reason this needs to even be mentioned is because a monk using a flurry has the special advantage of being able to change weapons mid-attack-routine, and use several different weapons as primary attacks all in the same round, whereas other characters must make all their primary attacks with a single weapon.
I do not see why a monk would not be able to use it off-hand (monk) weapon to make attacks in a Flurry of Blows while still using it to make the additional attack(s) granted by TWF (as long as the monk still wields another weapon).
 

Hypersmurf said:
That rule would make a throwing specialist rather problematical, wouldn't it?
And where's the problem with using iterative attacks to stab with longspear, drop longspear, quickdraw flail, 5' step, and make the next attack with the flail?

-Hyp.
Not as long as the throwing specialist is throwing all of his weapons with the same hand. Besides, a thrown weapon specialist isn't locked in melee. As for that spear & flail guy, though, I would think that switching weapons between iterative attacks is illegal, since that's a special privelage of a monk using a flurry of blows. Don't quote me on that, though, since the PHB doesn't say one thing or the other on changing weapons mid-attack -- the text in the description of the flurry of blows could very well just be further clarification of the fact that a monk can make primary attacks with any part of his body when flurrying, while some guy with a sword and dagger who substitutes off-hand dagger attacks for primary sword strikes is taking a -4 to hit and halving his strenght damage (but not taking 2WF penalties, since he's not making an extra off-hand attack). I just don't know what the core ruling is on that point. But I certainly don't let characters (other than flurrying monks) change melee weapons in the middle of a full attack.

Camarath said:
I do not see why a monk would not be able to use it off-hand (monk) weapon to make attacks in a Flurry of Blows while still using it to make the additional attack(s) granted by TWF (as long as the monk still wields another weapon).
For starters, both Skip Williams and Andrew Finch made a point of noting that any weapon you use in your flurry can't be your off-hand weapon, and vice versa, precisely because all your flurry attacks, no matter what part of the body you make them with, are primary attacks. A primary weapon can't be used again to make an off-hand attack, simple as that. It's just more confusing for monks since they're perfeclty ambidextrous and can litterally choose any part of their body to be their "off-hand" any time they want.

1. Imagine a right-handed fighter with a sword in his right hand and a dirk in his left. Every time he swings the sword, he's making a primary attack, but if he attacks with the dagger, or kicks somebody, or head-butts somebody, that's an off-hand or secondary attack and it takes a -4 penalty to hit and any Str bonus to damage is reduced by half.

2. Now imagine that fighter unarmed. Nothing much has changed. If he punches somebody with his right hand, he takes no penalty to hit and gets his full Str bonus to damage, but if he punches somebody with his left hand, or kicks, or head-butts, or does a sumo-style belly-bounce, or any other sort of unarmed strike, it's off-hand.

3. Then we have the unarmed monk. "There is no such thing as an off-hand attack for a monk striking unarmed." It doesn't matter whether the monk punches or kicks or whatever -- it's a primary attack. If the monk gets extra attacks from flurrying, they're still all primary attacks. Basically, an unarmed monk is never in a situation whre he has to take that -4 penalty to hit and halve his Str bonus, except when the monk chooses to make an off-hand attack in addition to his primary attacks (flurry or not). This incurs all the normal two-weapon fighting penalties, and the extra attack has reduced Str damage -- and though it goes without saying, the extra off-hand attack is made with some part of the monk's body that didn't get used to make primary attacks (this normally doesn't mean anything, since all the parts of a monk's body deal the same damage, but if the monk has had, for example, one fist enchanted with magic weapon or magic fang, that enchanted fist can be used to make all the primary attacks, or the off-hand attack, but not both).

4. Now take a monk who is armed with a pair of shuang-jin-kun (those are nunchaku for you folks who prefer karate and bujutsu to gongfu). This monk is not unarmed, so the stuff about having no off-hand doesn't apply (that text is under the monk's unarmed strike ability). If the monk is right handed, then the 'kun in his right hand is a primary weapon, and the 'kun in his left hand is an off-hand weapon. Also, the monk's kicks and head-butts and body-slams are primary weapons, since they're unarmed strikes. If the monk doesn't flurry, his attacks work like anyone else's. He can make primary attacks with either unarmed strikes or his right-hand weapon, and he can make off-hand attacks with either unarmed strikes or his left-hand weapon.

If this monk flurries, though, the flurry of blows text takes over. Any special monk weapon he carries can be a primary attack, and he can make his primary attacks in any combination of right-hand weapon, left-hand weapon, and unarmed strikes (kicks, etc.). BUT, and this is a big "but," if you use two-weapon fighting to toss in an off-hand attack, that off-hand attack is not part of your flurry of blows. It can be made with any weapon at all (even one that's not a special monk weapon) that you carry in either hand, or with an unarmed strike with any part of your body, provided that you did not already use that weapon or limb to make a primary attack -- because it's just the same as any other character fighting with two weapons. You can't re-use your primary weapon to make off-hand attacks, and for this monk, your whole body flurrying is your primary weapon, so you can only use parts of your body that you didn't flurry with to make off-hand attacks. If you have more off-hand attacks due to the Improrved and Greater and Perfect 2WF feats, these aren't flurry attacks, so they don't have to be made with special monk weapons, but you don't get the benefit of being able to attack in any combination of weapons. Our example monk, if he used both 'chacks and an unarmed strike or two with a flurry of blows, has only one off-hand weapon remaining -- unarmed strikes. If he used his left-hand nunchak to make all of his primary flurry attacks, the off-hand attack can come with the right-handed nunchak or an unarmed strike. If the monk were carrying a dagger, rather than a nunchaku, in one of his hands, that could be used to make the off-hand attack, but it couldn't be used to make any flurry attack since it's not a special monk weapon.
 
Last edited:

Jack Daniel said:
A primary weapon can't be used again to make an off-hand attack, simple as that.
Can you quote me a rule that indicates this?
Jack Daniel said:
If the monk were carrying a dagger, rather than a nunchaku, in one of his hands, that could be used to make the off-hand attack, but it couldn't be used to make any flurry attack since it's not a special monk weapon.
IMO "When using flurry of blows, a monk may attack only with unarmed strikes or with special monk weapons (kama, nunchaku, quarterstaff, sai, shuriken, and siangham)." means that since "A monk must use a full attack action to strike with a flurry of blows." the monk can not attack with non-monk weapons and use flurry of blows in the same full attack action.
 

Jack Daniel said:
Not as long as the throwing specialist is throwing all of his weapons with the same hand.

TWF specifically applies to thrown weapons in 3.5. So there's no reason he should be.

As for that spear & flail guy, though, I would think that switching weapons between iterative attacks is illegal...

I can't see why. We know that it's possible to take free actions between iterative attacks (drawing ammunition for use with a projectile weapon is a free action), so dropping the spear and quickdrawing the flail - both free actions - is no problem.

We know it's possible to 5' step between iterative attacks - it says so in the description of Full Attack.

Perhaps more likely than spear and flail is bow and sword; the archer shoots the enemy necromancer with his first attack, sees him go down, then drops his bow, quickdraws his mace, 5' steps, and deals to the skeletal minions in melee.

Nothing in the description of Full Attack to suggest it's not legal.

-Hyp.
 

Even more often I saw a TWF fighter dropping his melee opponents with the first two or three attacks, taking a 5ft step perhaps, then throwing his two returning melee crimes as well as several quickdrawn knives. Next round the melee stuff is back in his hands and hopefully he gets back into melee with another 5ft step. Sadly it's pretty difficult to include Rapid Shot here.

Dervishes rock, TWF dudes with 5ft steps might be described with something that annoys E's granny.
 
Last edited:

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top