Move Equivalent Action.


log in or register to remove this ad


AGGEMAM said:


No, hampered means that you have lost the ability to make standard actions thereby restricting you to make partial actions.

Dooh. The question is when you are hampered.

Hampered = Anything that restricts you.




Standard action = (action + move)

Partial action = action (Can be exchanged for a move)


You can make a Charge: (action + move)

Or you can make a partial charge: (action)
 


Bonedagger said:
You have the choise [sic] not to use your move.

PHB p. 127
As a general rule, you can do as much with a partial action as you could with a standard action minus a move.


Yes, just about anything you could do as a standard action can be done as a partial action, but without the move/move-equivalent action that would be included as part of a standard action. But not vice-versa! Not every partial action can be combined with a move to make a standard action! In general, you can only make a partial action when that is the only kind of action you can take (egs. during a surprise round, when you are slowed, when you are taking your bonus action while hasted). You may not pick something off of the partial action list, add a move-equivalent action to it, and do them both as a standard action. It is not permitted in the rules to stand up (or move) and then make a partial charge, or to move and then start a full-round spell. Only actions on the standard action list can be performed as standard actions. That's what the list is there for ...
 

AGGEMAM said:
Look, I need to do my week-end shooping now, but when come back I'll explain it to you, if noone else has.

Take a look on my response to Christian (Copied below). If you are still confused after having read it, I will be of the belief that this discussion will lead nowhere.

Originally posted by Christian
(Grump.) Not again ...

This is how it works. On a regular turn, you have a choice of taking a full-round action or a standard action. You do not have the choice of taking a partial action. Period.



You have the choise not to use your move.




PHB p. 127
As a general rule, you can do as much with a partial action as you could with a standard action minus a move.
 

I stand up and ready a partial charge against Orc#1 as soon as anyone else starts an action.

Avoid the sillyness, just let them partial charge.
 

AGGEMAM said:
A ready action has to be triggered by somebody elses actions,
I think you're making this up.

A ready action is triggered by the stated "conditions".

Using the letter of the rules you can stand up and charge by using the ready action.

Using the (IMO) spirit of the rules, you can stand up and charge.

Using common sense, you can stand up and charge.



Avoid the silliness, just let them partial charge. :rolleyes:
 

Christian said:


Yes, just about anything you could do as a standard action can be done as a partial action, but without the move/move-equivalent action that would be included as part of a standard action. But not vice-versa! Not every partial action can be combined with a move to make a standard action!
*snip*

It's my turn to say "Sic" now.

Of cause every partial action cannot be combined with a move to make a standard action. There are those actions called "Miscellaneous Standard/Partial Actions" . Called that because they don't fit into the normal categories (See table 8-4 PHB).

You may not pick something off of the partial action list, add a move-equivalent action to it, and do them both as a standard action. It is not permitted in the rules to stand up (or move) and then make a partial charge,

Yes actually it is. Your movement + charge is irrelevant since all movement has to be in a straight line anyway (The normally move is a part of the charge action, like a move is a part of a normal standard action). Stand up + partial charge. No prob..

or to move and then start a full-round spell.

That is correct. Ít is not a miscellaneous action.

Only actions on the standard action list can be performed as standard actions. That's what the list is there for ...

You have misunderstod the list.
 
Last edited:

Why the hell is this such a big deal?

Charge is a standard action anyway, so just stand up as a move-equivalent action and then charge.
 

Remove ads

Top