NG vs. NE: Neutral Evil is Victorious!

Gansk: [sblock] I was under the impression that a new (successful) attack "overrides" the previous one. In fact, I had considered doing that against OP to keep him from killing Sonja. [/sblock]
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I2K:[sblock]That's not the impression I get from the confusion spell - it says "attackers", not "attacker". I was going to instruct OP to breath on both attackers in the Sonja situation, but then I noticed that Sonja was shaken and would run away instead of attacking.[/sblock]
 

Interesting note on the diagonals - when to stop rounding the diagonal movement. If a creature ends turn 1 by making a diagonal, should they have to pay full price on turn 2 if they start with a diagonal? In this case I am treating each MEA as an atomic action. Each action complies with the rules as written. The question is what granularity the atomic action should use - on the action level, on the round level, or on the combat level?
 


Greybar said:
Interesting note on the diagonals - when to stop rounding the diagonal movement. If a creature ends turn 1 by making a diagonal, should they have to pay full price on turn 2 if they start with a diagonal? In this case I am treating each MEA as an atomic action. Each action complies with the rules as written. The question is what granularity the atomic action should use - on the action level, on the round level, or on the combat level?
Wow, really good question. It appears you may be right. Having a speed of 5ft or 20ft seems to net you an extra 5ft of total movement as long as you don't withdraw (which would be a single action). My gut agrees with PJSlavner and tells me no, but that may not be what the movement wording suggests. I suppose your interpretation actually makes sense, though. You may gain a little bit of extra movement, but instead you don't get screwed by being forced to move 5ft/2 actions (e.g. imagine a tight corridor running along the diagonals).

Gansk: [sblock] Okay, no problem. Just so I know it's not a valid tactic when the next two rassafrassin' chaos dragons show up. [/sblock]
 

I have always played it as any movement in the same turn, you have to keep diagonals in mind, but I never though of it as two separate moves.

Under movement in combat on page 147 of the PHB, it states, "If you do nothing but move (that is, if you use both of your actions in a round to move your speed), you can move double your speed." To me that indicates that it is one continuous movement, because it does not state that you move your speed twice.

Cecilia wishes she could ask George to stop attacking. She begins casting a spell.[sblock]SNAIV[/sblock]George pounds the same place it did last time.

Bony will move to 60N30E. BB will move to 75N50E and ready the same thing as before.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

OOC: I'll stick with the current position for now and watch the debate in the rules forum.

PO:[sblock]The claws do not reach. Everything else does.[/sblock]

Round 260: PO hits with two wings and his tail. One wing does no damage, but the other two attacks do a total of 24-14 damage. George has 73 hp.

PO takes 5 acid and has 130 hp.

George pounds back once (natural 1 & natural 20, 22+1 crit roll, beat miss chance). PO takes 14+3 and has 113 hp.

PO starts round 261.
 
Last edited:


OOC: PO should be down to 113 HP.

A large pillar of fire appears at 110N45E. It gets instructions from Cecilia to wait a bit, plus the instructions that were given earlier.

Cecilia puts grease at 95N45E.

George keeps pounding.

BB moves to 80N45E and lets loose a black cloud.

If Ronnie Burns does not see an opponent, it moves to 105N45N and try to slam PO if PO is in sight. Ronnie slams twice if PO is in sight. Ronnie will tell Ceciia where PO is.
 

Round 261: PO hits with two wings and his bite. Total damage is 45-21. George has 49 hp.

PO takes 10 acid and has 103 hp left.

RB takes 7 acid and has 64 hp left.

No one can see the grease or the possible results.

George misses, once due to the fog.

BB takes 5 acid and has 50 hp left.

PO takes 7 from BB's gas and has 96 hp left.

RB sees PO standing at 90N40E. He misses.

PO:[sblock]You now have three enemies - George, BB & RB.[/sblock]

PO starts round 262.
 

Remove ads

Top