PF2 [OOC] JM's "Doomsday Dawn" Pathfinder 2 Playtest Adventure. (Closed)

jmucchiello

Adventurer
Summary of dying :)

START HERE
if you take damage and are reduced to 0 hit points or less
* You don't track negative hit points any more (Hurray), you have at a minimum 0 hp
* if the attack was lethal, you gain a level of the Dying condition
-- the dying condition only means if you reach level 4 of dying, you are dead. (One class has a feat that raises that to level 5.) It has not other affect.
-- so you start at Dying 1 unless you already possess a dying level, which is incremented by 1
* if the attack was non-lethal, your hit points return to 1 hit point but...
* You gain the unconscious condition
-- unconscious has all the effects you expect unaware, helpless, immobile, prone, drop everything you are holding, etc.
* You move in the initiative immediately before the effect that caused you to lose your hit points.
* Remember the DC of the effect that reduced you to 0 hit points
-- this part is confusion. If a fireball gets you, the DC is DC of the saving throw. If a minatour bashed your skull with an axe, the DC is its "Class DC"
-- Classes have an ability score: wizard is Int. So a wizard's Class DC would be 10+Int mod + level
-- The DM can decide this is inappropriate at times, such as when the wizard hit's you with a dagger that drops you. Then the DM might use 10 + Str mod + level.

FOLLOWUP HERE
Removing the Unconscious condition:
* At the start of each turn, you make a recovery saving throw, a Fortitude save. This has the DC you were told to remember above.
* Success
-- with 0 hp raises you to 1 hp, you are still unconscious
-- with 1 hp removes the unconscious condition, you still have just 1 hp. You may only use 2 actions on the turn you wake up.
* Failure, your dying level goes up by 1
* Critical Failure, your dying level goes up by 2
(I wonder why there's no crit success: you awaken at 1 hp)

FOLLOWUP HERE TOO
Removing the Dying condition:
* If you have a dying condition and are conscious and have 1 hp, remove one dying level at the end of your turn.

AND ALSO REMEMBER
Taking damage when unconscious:
* Just treat it as if you were just reduced to 0 hp as above.
* Use the higher of the two recovery DC values when attempting to recover.
* I suppose you also move your initiative again but that's not in the book.

AT ANY TIME
You can spend a Hero Point and fully recover to 1 hp, conscious, and no dying condition.
 

EarlyBird

Villager
Round 1:
hill giant
atk#1 +17 to hit 3d10+5 dmg
atk#2 +12 to hit 3d10+5 dmg
atk#3 +07 to hit 3d10+5 dmg

You best kill it before round #2 LOL
 

jmucchiello

Adventurer
Round 1:
hill giant
atk#1 +17 to hit 3d10+5 dmg
atk#2 +12 to hit 3d10+5 dmg
atk#3 +07 to hit 3d10+5 dmg

You best kill it before round #2 LOL
Remember your AC by level 7 is 6 higher than now. Plus magic items. You probably have a +1 armor for 7 higher than 1st level. Paladins gain expert in heavy armor at 7th level for another +1. And most martial classes have gained a level of proficiency with their favorite weapons by level 7 so that makes the giant easier to hit.

If you get AC up to 22, those 2nd and 3rd attacks can easily miss.

Finally most giants lack Attack of Opportunity, so just rush in, attack, and rush out. :)
 

FitzTheRuke

Adventurer
Re: Dying.

I don't think you move your Initiative again. 1: It doesn't say so, 2: That would be a pain.

"* Success
-- with 0 hp raises you to 1 hp, you are still unconscious"

It doesn't actually say this, which is why I'm a little unsure of it, but it implies it, and I think it works that way too. But the bold bit is actually not there in the text.

One more comment: As written, which is an obvious mistake, if you punch an unconscious friend, they gain one HP. Haha!
 

jmucchiello

Adventurer
Re: Dying.

I don't think you move your Initiative again. 1: It doesn't say so, 2: That would be a pain.
Taking Damage while Unconscious
If you take damage while you’re already unconscious,
apply the same effects as if you had been knocked out by
that damage.
That implies you follow the first block completely, including the step where your initiative moves.

"* Success
-- with 0 hp raises you to 1 hp, you are still unconscious"

It doesn't actually say this, which is why I'm a little unsure of it, but it implies it, and I think it works that way too. But the bold bit is actually not there in the text.
Recovery Save Effects
The possible effects of a recovery save depend on whether
you’re at 0 Hit Points (at risk of dying) or at 1 Hit Point
(stabilized with a chance to wake up)
.(emphasis added)

If you are at 1 Hit Point or more:
Success You become conscious
Combined, it doesn't say you wake up when you get to 1 hp. You have to have 1 hp to wake up. The rules for 0 hp say nothing about waking up , but the rules for 1 hp do. That implies you don't wake automatically with 1 hp.

Remember, they are attempting to avoid the whack-a-mole problem of people going to death's door five times in a fight and then being fine afterward. The dying levels will stack up if you get whacked to 0 too many times.

One more comment: As written, which is an obvious mistake, if you punch an unconscious friend, they gain one HP. Haha!
Where's it imply that?

If you take damage while unconscious and that reduces you to 0 hp or you were already at 0 hp, you gain a level of dying and go through this whole recovery process using the friend's class DC for the recovery saving throw.
 

Where's it imply that?

If you take damage while unconscious and that reduces you to 0 hp or you were already at 0 hp, you gain a level of dying and go through this whole recovery process using the friend's class DC for the recovery saving throw.​


If you read the Taking Damage while Unconscious Section (p. 295)

Taking Damage while Unconscious

If you take damage while you’re already unconscious,
apply the same effects as if you had been knocked out by
that damage. If the recovery save DC for the new damage
is higher than your current recovery save DC, start using
the higher DC.

If you read the Getting Knocked Out section (p. 295)

Getting Knocked Out:

When you’re reduced to 0 Hit Points, you get knocked out.
When this happens, you are subject to the following effects:

• You fall unconscious (gaining the unconscious condition).

• You immediately move your initiative position to directly
before the creature or effect that reduced you to 0 HP.

• If the attack was lethal, you gain the dying 1 condition. If you
already had the dying condition, instead increase your dying
condition by 1. If the attack was a critical hit, you gain the
dying 2 condition (or increase your dying condition by 2).

• If the attack was nonlethal, you do not gain the dying condition
or increase your dying condition, and you return to 1 Hit Point
(though you remain unconscious).

If you go by RAW you would go to 1 HP and be unconscious if hit with a nonlethal punch.​
 

FitzTheRuke

Adventurer
Weirdly, I thought you were talking about moving Init again when you wake up, not when you take more damage. Rereading, I see what you mean now. Yes, you'd move again.

The interpretation about gaining 1 HP from being punched isn't mine, I read people talking about it. It's from this line:

"If you take damage while you’re already unconscious, apply the same effects as if you had been knocked out by that damage."

AND (the "same effect" would be:)

"If the attack was nonlethal, you do not gain the dying condition or increase your dying condition, and you return to 1 Hit Point"

It's silly, obviously.
 
Weirdly, I thought you were talking about moving Init again when you wake up, not when you take more damage. Rereading, I see what you mean now. Yes, you'd move again.

The interpretation about gaining 1 HP from being punched isn't mine, I read people talking about it. It's from this line:

"If you take damage while you’re already unconscious, apply the same effects as if you had been knocked out by that damage."

AND (the "same effect" would be:)

"If the attack was nonlethal, you do not gain the dying condition or increase your dying condition, and you return to 1 Hit Point"

It's silly, obviously.
I agree but I can see how it can be interpreted as such.
 

FitzTheRuke

Adventurer
I agree but I can see how it can be interpreted as such.
Yeah, it's a valid criticism on the way it's written. Obviously, no one should actually play it that way. But pointing out that the rules say it and need to be fixed is an important part of why we're playtesting!

This isn't gonna be the only place we get surprised by the rules.

Speaking of which, has anyone noticed how persistent damage works? It's a little confusing and you have to look all over the place to gather all the rules involved.
 
Yeah, it's a valid criticism on the way it's written. Obviously, no one should actually play it that way. But pointing out that the rules say it and need to be fixed is an important part of why we're playtesting!

This isn't gonna be the only place we get surprised by the rules.

Speaking of which, has anyone noticed how persistent damage works? It's a little confusing and you have to look all over the place to gather all the rules involved.
There is a pretty good write up on persistent damage on p. 323.
 
[MENTION=813]jmucchiello[/MENTION]

Hey just wanted to give you a heads up I am going away for the weekend with limited internet access. I am leaving tomorrow and will be back sometime Monday night.
 

jmucchiello

Adventurer
[MENTION=6855204]tglassy[/MENTION], will you have your character's equipment and icon ready by Monday? [post="7476315"]character sheet[/post]
 

FitzTheRuke

Adventurer
This week's Twitch post states that the Sorcerer's Bloodline skills are just supposed to be Signature, not Trained (will be Errata'd). Sorcerers are not Rogue-like skill monkeys, I'm afraid.
 

Radaceus

Villager
been sick as for two days...

anyways, regarding signature skills. I missed the definition on page 43, in my read through for creation, (because i used the walk through on pages 12-20, which never pointed me to pg 43, though it did point me to chapter 4, where i missed the significance of signature skills ...did i mention that this book reminds of my using the 1E PHB to rollup back in the day?...)

so it says
Signature Skills
This entry lists the skills in which members of your
character’s class are naturally adept. In most cases, it’s
a good idea to allocate your character’s starting skill
proficiencies to her signature skills, though doing so is not
required. At higher levels, your character can increase her
proficiency ranks in these skills to master or legendary.
She typically cannot do so in nonsignature skills.
So I think the rules are clear. I should choose Crafting + the 4 granted by the bloodline if I want to get a master rank in those later.

I'll deselect and edit my sheet to reflect that i have 5 less skills.
 

Advertisement

Top