Questions about Conjurations

erion42

First Post
So, I'm really confused when it comes to conjurations when it comes to attacking them.

The PHB2 states : Normally, a conjuration cannot be attacked or physically affected. If a conjuration can be attacked or physically affected, it uses your defenses.

1) So, how does one know if an attack can target a conjuration?
2) If an attack HITS a conjuration, does it have hit points or does it just simply vanish minion-style?
3) When moving a conjuration, it counts as the summoner's move action but uses the conjuration's speed?

Sorry if this has been covered in another thread, but I couldn't find anything simply on conjurations.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The text of the power or ritual that has the conjuration keyword will say.

For example, the Shaman's Spirit Companion is a conjuration, and it can only be hit by melee or ranged attacks, and not close or area attacks. It has no hit points per se, but if it takes 10 + 1/2 level points of damage from a single attack, it poofs. The spirit can be moved, as well as the Shaman, when the Shaman moves.

Whereas, the Wizard's Flaming Sphere can not be attacked at all, and the Wizard must choose whether to move it or the themselves.
 

1) So, how does one know if an attack can target a conjuration?
It will tell you in the power.
2) If an attack HITS a conjuration, does it have hit points or does it just simply vanish minion-style?
Powers that create conjuration that can be attacks will tell you that.
3) When moving a conjuration, it counts as the summoner's move action but uses the conjuration's speed?
Depends on the power. Some power lets you move the conjuration a certain distance when you spend a move action and others make you spend a move action only on moving the conjuration.

Example 1: Flaming Sphere require you to spend a move action to move the Sphere. Meaning you spend a Move Action to only move the Sphere
Example 2: Call Spirit Companion allows you to move the Spirit Companion when ever you spend a move action. Meaning, when you spend a move action to move you speed(or any other move action) you can Also move the Spirit Companion.
Sorry if this has been covered in another thread, but I couldn't find anything simply on conjurations.
No need to apologize. We all have questions that need answers.
 

So what about conjurations with defenses?

For example, the level 1 daily wizard power "Summon Fire Warrior" has the following:

Effect: You summon a Medium fire warrior in an unoccupied square within range. The fire warrior has a speed of fly 6 (hover). It has a +2 bonus to AC and a +2 bonus to Fortitude. You can give the fire warrior the following special commands.
Standard Action: Melee 1; targets one creature; Intelligence vs. Reflex; 1d8 + Intelligence modifier fire damage.
Opportunity Attack: Melee 1; targets one creature; Intelligence vs. Reflex; 1d8 + Intelligence modifier fire damage.


1) If it has defenses equal to yours (with a bonus to fortitude), that suggests it could be damaged. It does not, however, state how much damage would be required to destroy it. Does that mean it follows the same logic as the shaman's animal spirit?
2) Since it has opportunity attack abilities, does that mean it can flank or are those abilities separate?
 

So what about conjurations with defenses?

For example, the level 1 daily wizard power "Summon Fire Warrior" has the following:

That power has the Summoning keyword, not the Conjuration keyword. They work very differently. Very broadly speaking, Conjurations produce effects that are more like magical objects while Summons produce effects that are more like actual creatures.
 

That power has the Summoning keyword, not the Conjuration keyword. They work very differently. Very broadly speaking, Conjurations produce effects that are more like magical objects while Summons produce effects that are more like actual creatures.

Oops! I guessed I figured summoned creatures were like the shaman's spirit. Well, I still can't find any rulings on damaging summoned creatures. How do you know how much damage a summoned creature can take if the power doesn't tell you its HP? It would suck to take a daily power that lets you summon a creature only to have it get dropped by a minion's attack.
 

So what about conjurations with defenses?

For example, the level 1 daily wizard power "Summon Fire Warrior" has the following:

Effect: You summon a Medium fire warrior in an unoccupied square within range. The fire warrior has a speed of fly 6 (hover). It has a +2 bonus to AC and a +2 bonus to Fortitude. You can give the fire warrior the following special commands.
Standard Action: Melee 1; targets one creature; Intelligence vs. Reflex; 1d8 + Intelligence modifier fire damage.
Opportunity Attack: Melee 1; targets one creature; Intelligence vs. Reflex; 1d8 + Intelligence modifier fire damage.


1) If it has defenses equal to yours (with a bonus to fortitude), that suggests it could be damaged. It does not, however, state how much damage would be required to destroy it. Does that mean it follows the same logic as the shaman's animal spirit?
2) Since it has opportunity attack abilities, does that mean it can flank or are those abilities separate?

That's a "Summon" not a "Conjuration" so it follows different rules from conjurations. If you look at the top row of the power, it has the keyword (Summon or Conjuration) that tells you which rule it follows.

Summons are basically new creatures rather than just a magical effect that acts like a creature.

Do you have Player's Handbook 2? It has Summoning and Conjuration keywords detailed in the back, talking about defenses, hit points, etc.

The Fire Warrior (going from memory) has hit points equal to the wizard's bloodied value and uses the wizard's defenses (plus a bonus as noted). Though it doesn't get any temporary bonuses to defenses or attacks that the wizard gets. It is a new creature so it can flank, etc.

Conjurations can not attack, be attacked, or flank unless it explicitly says so in the powers description.

Edit: ninjaed by other posters! :P
 

Arcane Power said:
Hit Points: The summoned creature's maximum hit points equals your bloodied value. When the summoned creature drops to 0 hit points, it is destroyed, and you lose a healing surge. If you have no healing surges left, you instead take damage equal to your bloodied value.

All that is under New Keyword: Summoning in the Arcane Power chapter on Wizards.
 


AWESOME! Thanks to everyone who helped. I totally want to play a wizard now.

"GO, MY MINIONS!"

That's a "Summon" not a "Conjuration" so it follows different rules from conjurations. If you look at the top row of the power, it has the keyword (Summon or Conjuration) that tells you which rule it follows.

Summons are basically new creatures rather than just a magical effect that acts like a creature.

Do you have Player's Handbook 2? It has Summoning and Conjuration keywords detailed in the back, talking about defenses, hit points, etc.

The Fire Warrior (going from memory) has hit points equal to the wizard's bloodied value and uses the wizard's defenses (plus a bonus as noted). Though it doesn't get any temporary bonuses to defenses or attacks that the wizard gets. It is a new creature so it can flank, etc.

Conjurations can not attack, be attacked, or flank unless it explicitly says so in the powers description.

Edit: ninjaed by other posters! :P
 

Remove ads

Top