Quicken touch spells

Dragon Mage

First Post
When spells that require a melee touch attack are quickened is the touch attack quicken also? Is the attack just part of the casting, or is it a seperate attack action?
 

log in or register to remove this ad




Darklone said:
Hmm, wasn't that for touching willing targets only?
No. Same as for ranged touch attack spells. Example: rays can be quickened too.

The quicken feat gives a global allowance (i.e. casting a spell as a swift action), and does not retract it anywhere for spells that operate off of attack rolls.

From the 3.5 FAQ (if desired):
"Casting a quickened version of either example spell works
exactly the same way (although you’d have to be an epic-level
character to cast a quickened meteor swarm); the caster makes
all the ranged touch attacks the spell allows as part of the free
action he used to cast the spell. The caster generally uses his
full attack bonus for each ranged touch attack. Any other
attacks the caster might make during the same round as the
quickened spell have no effect on the caster’s attack bonus for
the ranged touch attacks; however, if the caster does something
that gives him an attack penalty on all his attack rolls until his
next turn, such as fighting defensively, that attack penalty also
applies to his ranged touch attacks from the quickened spell."
 
Last edited:

I'm not convinced, that quote only talks about ranged touch attacks... is there a similar part about melee touch attacks?

If that would be meant to be applied to melee touch attacks, there wouldn't be any need to spell ranged touch attacks out.
 

Darklone said:
that quote only talks about ranged touch attacks... <snip> If that would be meant to be applied to melee touch attacks, there wouldn't be any need to spell ranged touch attacks out.
The Sage was actually answering questions specifically about scorching ray and meteor swarm here. Both use ranged touch attacks, so he would have had no reason to mention melee touch attacks.

There are many other examples of quickened touch spells in WotC products (example: Juiblex in the Book of Vile Darkness has a quickened contagion).

I'm not convinced
I'm completely ok with that. However, if you wish to convince others of your point of view, you would need to find text rescinding the global allowance provided by quicken (i.e. the onus of proof is on you).
 
Last edited:

Darklone said:
Hmm, wasn't that for touching willing targets only?
I don't understand your point. Are you suggesting that you cannot touch someone to attack in the same round you cast a melee touch attack spell, such as contagion?
 

Infiniti2000 said:
I don't understand your point. Are you suggesting that you cannot touch someone to attack in the same round you cast a melee touch attack spell, such as contagion?

[states the obvious] If you cast a melee touch attack spell normally, the touch attack itself is part of the casting action [/states the obvious] Darkalone was (I think) wondering whether quickening the spell casting also quickens the melee touch attack, or if it only quickens the touching part if you are touching willing subjects.
It seems to me that the melee touch attack must also be quickened.
 

Philodendron said:
[states the obvious] If you cast a melee touch attack spell normally, the touch attack itself is part of the casting action [/states the obvious] Darkalone was (I think) wondering whether quickening the spell casting also quickens the melee touch attack, or if it only quickens the touching part if you are touching willing subjects.
It seems to me that the melee touch attack must also be quickened.
Where does it state in the rules the "the touch attack itself is part of the casting"?
 

Remove ads

Top