Quiz

Some of the parameters you've sketched out are ambiguous, like what exactly you mean when you say the opponent didn't "move" (do you mean didn't change squares, or didn't take any actions?), and what you mean by "in a round" (do you mean on your turn, or do you mean from the beginning of your initiative count in one round to the beginning of your initiative count in the next round?).

The strict reading of what you've written is that you made all three attacks on your turn, and it goes without saying that the opponent took no actions because, after all, it wasn't his turn. But I suspect you have a less strict reading in mind.

For example, one less strict interpretation is that you have Improved Trip, and you have convinced your DM that when you make a trip attack with a weapon you get to add sneak attack damage (even though the trip attack itself doesn't cause damage, it is a technically a melee attack). Thus, you made a trip attack, succeeded, then made the immediate melee attack you get from Improved Trip, then when he tried to get up you took an AOO against him.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Felix said:
Switching the rapier from hand to hand is a free action, ...

I had the very same silly idea, but I think it's a move action as specified in the FAQ (IIRC, that is).

Bye
Thanee
 

Thanee said:
I had the very same silly idea, but I think it's a move action as specified in the FAQ (IIRC, that is).

Indeed.

In a previous column, the Sage ruled that switching weapons from one hand to the other should take a move action. My group and I thought that seemed pretty long, since it’s only a free action to drop something. Why can’t you just drop it into your other hand?
It’s not really true that switching weapons from one hand to another is just like dropping a weapon. When you drop a weapon, you’re releasing it and letting it drop to the ground, with no real guidance (or attention) as to exactly where it lands. Switching a weapon from one hand to another is certainly more complex than simply dropping it. At the very least, switching hands would require you to use one hand to take the weapon from the other and at most it involves using both hands together in a coordinated action. Either way that sounds a lot like drawing a weapon, which is a move action. When you simply drop a weapon, you don’t really care where it lands, and it doesn’t require you to use the other hand to guide the action.

Calypso
 

Though I can't find it in the SRD, I think switching hands is a free action becasue casting a spell with a somatic component needs a free hand, and clerics with a shield and a mace can put the mace in the shield hand so they can cast.

Alternatively, putting a hand on a weapon is a free action, as is taking a hand off. You then have two free actions which combine, unless the DM says otherwise, to a free action.

But like I said, I can't find it in the SRD.

EDIT

Ah, Sage Advice, my old foe. We meet again.
 

1) You provoked an Attack of Opportunity with a move action.
2) Your opponent tried to disarm your weapon with his AoO which provoked an AoO from you (attack #1). Your attack hit, so no disarm.
3) You then readied an action to trip him with Improved Trip and got your attack afterwards when the readied action took place (attack #2).
4) He then got up on his turn and since actions reset on your "new turn", you got another AoO on him when he got up (attack #3).
 
Last edited:

Isn't there a feat in the Tome of Battle that lets your allies get an attack? (My copy is at home) He said he was flanking so there is another party member standing opposite. If they have that feat then he could have got an additional attack that way.
 

I used Quicker than the eye to bluff him as a move equivalent action. With my partial action granted by that manuver I attacked him (#1),denying him his dex bonus to AC. That allowed me to use expert tactician to make an AoO (#2). I then took my normal attack which is allowed after a move (#3).
 

So you used the 3.0 Expert Tactician, at the least, from S&F. And you used the S&S Quicker than the Eye. So much for claiming it was with 3.5 books :lol:
 

Also, as per the Song and Silence FAQ, you misused Quicker than the Eye:

"Quicker Than the Eye doesn’t give you any extra actions.
Creatures that fail their Spot checks just don’t see what
you’re doing for the rest of the round.
Once you make your Bluff check (as a move-equivalent
action) you can do just about anything with the remainder of
your round. Because you have already made a moveequivalent
action, you have only a partial action left. You
could use that partial action to attack, move, use a skill, cast a
spell, or any one of a number of other things (see Partial
Actions in Chapter 8 of the Player’s Handbook).
Note that what you can do after the Bluff check does not
depend at all on the outcome of your opponents’ Spot checks,
but any opponent who makes a successful Spot check
observes what you do with your partial action."
 


Remove ads

Top