Ring of Sorcery (New Item)

Actually are using such items in our campaign - went the "staff-route", meaning you actually have to hold the staff to be able to cast the spell, but no charges used if a sorcerer "channels" a spell-slot through the staff - basically, the staff has no charges, it just provides the 'lattice' for the spell-energy expended by the sorcerer.

priced at (spell-level+1) squared x1,5 x1000gp (marketprice)

level 0 = 1500gp
level 1 = 6000gp
level 2 = 13500gp
level 3 = 24000gp
level 4 = 37500gp
level 5 = 54000gp

No spells over level 5 ( those are likewise hard to get/research for wizards ). Created with "create wondrous item" (headslot) or "create staff and wand" (staff). Staves created in such a way do not have charges of their own, cannot be charged and are entirely powered by the sorcerer's magical energy

From a game balance point of view - they are pretty rare (in our campaigns - e.g. nothing any magical-trader would usually have in stock except in the rarest of circumstances, but something to be fought over, quested for or used as "leverage"), very much sought after, and usually are created with "specific utility" spells - such as "water breathing", "locate object" or similar spells useful only some of the time (which a PC might be loath to learn with his limited ability to trade them off later in the game ) .
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Eccles said:
My word. That item makes my equivalent look hideously expensive!

It does what I'm driving at, but I get the feeling that it's probably too cheap, and I don't think I'd allow the higher level spells, either. Mind you the 'level squared x 1000' mechanic has the simplicity I was looking for. I'd probably treble it or something.

And the minimum Creator Level of 17 seems a bit harsh if you want to make an item to replicate a 0 level spell!

Well I think the idea is that a sorcerer would not create one for himself since it requires the spell that is in it for the creation. So why would a sorcerer PC create an item that already gives himself a spell that he already knows.

As for the high level spells, I don't really have a problem with them since it is only one spell and does take up a body slot that could be used for other items of greater power (especially at that level).
 

Jander Rivenwild said:
Well I think the idea is that a sorcerer would not create one for himself since it requires the spell that is in it for the creation. So why would a sorcerer PC create an item that already gives himself a spell that he already knows.

As for the high level spells, I don't really have a problem with them since it is only one spell and does take up a body slot that could be used for other items of greater power (especially at that level).


except that in 3.5 sorcerers can "forget" spells and learn new ones to take their place.

So, a level 8 sorcerer could make a ring of sorcererous fireball, and at level nine he could forget fireball, and pick up dispel magic in that place. Now he has both spells.
 

apsuman said:
except that in 3.5 sorcerers can "forget" spells and learn new ones to take their place.

So, a level 8 sorcerer could make a ring of sorcererous fireball, and at level nine he could forget fireball, and pick up dispel magic in that place. Now he has both spells.

D'oh! I keep forgetting about that change. And I am playing a sorcerer right now (only 4th level though).
 

I know that there is a ring from a book already in existance that does something like this.

I believe that it has 10 'levels' of spells that can be placed in it, much like a ring of storing, but you cannot cast spells out of it. Instead sorcerers may use them as though those spells were on his class list. It had a price of somewhere around 15k.

Most of the times I saw it in use (as in, both times) it basically meant 2 extra 0 level spells, 3 extra 1st, 1 extra 2nd, 1 extra fourth. I dont know if it was undercosted or not, but it never really had a huge impact. Especially as whatever spell the sorc wanted he had to spend a day emptying the ring, and then the wizard (or someone they hired to cast spells) had to put the new spells into it that he wanted.
 

apsuman said:
After all, if it were a ring he could use at most two of them, precluding him from using other magic rings. For this he gets, what? Two extra spells he can cast?

That's assuming these rings can only contain a single spell. I'd allow multiple spells to be included in the same ring.
 

uzagi_akimbo said:
Actually are using such items in our campaign - went the "staff-route", meaning you actually have to hold the staff to be able to cast the spell, but no charges used if a sorcerer "channels" a spell-slot through the staff - basically, the staff has no charges, it just provides the 'lattice' for the spell-energy expended by the sorcerer.

That's excellent! Have you posted that to House Rules for feed-back and good karma? If not, would you mind if I did? I really like the concept but would want to see that "the community" thinks of the pricing.

Mac Callum
 

apsuman said:
So, a level 8 sorcerer could make a ring of sorcererous fireball, and at level nine he could forget fireball, and pick up dispel magic in that place. Now he has both spells.

Well, Forge Ring has a prereq of 12th level caster, so he would have to be at least 12th level to get the feat, so the first time he'll swap things out is at 14th level, he might want to make a 4th or 5th level spell ring.

Just being pendantic, I hope you don't mind ;)
 


I think allowing it to hold more than one spell would be an invite to overpower the sorcerer.

Now an artifact that contains the trapped soul of an eeevil ancient sorcerer that lets you know all (and therefore cast) all of the ancient sorcerer spells sounds like a great idea for the start of a campaign.

Also, I think forge ring requiring 12th level is just one of those rules that does not make since to me. YMMV.
 

Remove ads

Top