*sigh* So this has just been mental masturbation. Whatever makes you happy.Hardhead said:Here... I totally agree. My point is not, and has never been, that it's a balanced rule. As I said, my group limits SA's to once per round (this was imposed when another person was DMing, and I use it when I'm DMing too). I doubt SAs were supposed to be quite as common as they ended up being. The "spirit" of the rule is almost certainly not that you should be able to deal a hojillion d6 damage with Scorching Rays. Your way may even be how it's supposed to work, and they forgot to put it in the rulebooks. More likely, I think, they figured the "volley" attack rule, without shuriken, was specialized enough they could just put it under the only "volley" attack in 3.5, Manyshot, and not worry about it.. forgetting about that new ray spell they added.
But, I'm arguing that, as far as the rules are concerned, it's legal. It's certainly not balanced. It's most likely not what they intended. But it's what the 3.5 rules say happens.
Last edited: