Sneak Attack + ranged attack spells

RigaMortus2

First Post
I am having a brain fart here :)

I know that if you cast a ranged spell that requires multiple "to hit" rolls on an opponent, that you only get the benefits from Sneak Attack on your first hit. Actually, is it your first actual HIT or is it the first attack?

Example: You cast Lesser Fire Orbs, and produce 3 orbs that all target the same person. I know that only 1 deals sneak attack damage (if applicable). Now if I miss with the first orb, but hit with the next two, do I apply sneak attack damage to the second attack (the first successful hit) or am I denied sneak attack since the first attack missed, and that would be the one that it was applied to???

Second question...

Let's say I use Lesser Fire Orb, and make each orb (3 total) hit 3 different people. All hit successfully. Does each one get sneak attack damage applied against them?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

RigaMortus2 said:
I know that if you cast a ranged spell that requires multiple "to hit" rolls on an opponent, that you only get the benefits from Sneak Attack on your first hit. Actually, is it your first actual HIT or is it the first attack?

According to the FAQ, you get only one sneak attack per attack, and even then, only the first attack in the volley can sneak attack. So, if the first attack in the volley misses, no sneak attack. Here are the relevant passages...

Can a rogue sneak attack with three shuriken if she is
within 30 feet of a target? If each hits, does each gain the
sneak attack bonus?

&nbsp&nbsp&nbspYou apply sneak attack damage only once per attack. If you
use one attack to throw three shuriken, you get to apply sneak
attack bonus damage only once. Sneak attack damage—and a
ranger’s favored enemy bonus damage—apply only to one of
the three shuriken that you throw. You do not have enough
precision with the extra shuriken to get bonus sneak attack or
favored enemy damage.

An earlier question says a rogue deals extra damage with
a sneak attack anytime the target is denied its Dexterity
bonus to Armor Class or anytime the rogue flanks the
target, no matter how many attacks the rogue makes. But it
also says you apply sneak attack damage only once per
attack. If you use one attack to throw three shuriken, you
get to apply sneak attack. Which is correct?

&nbsp&nbsp&nbspThey’re both correct. The difference here is the number of
attack rolls you make with one attack. You can throw up to
three shuriken with one attack. If you do so, you’re still making
only one attack—even though you’re making more than one
attack roll. Only the first shuriken in the volley can be a sneak
attack. Note that this also means that you don’t have to use the
full attack action to throw multiple shuriken.

With that said, one of my DMs is pretty forgiving about this, and he rules that the first attack that hits qualifies for a sneak attack. I don't particullarly have a problem with that, but I ruled otherwise for my games.

RigaMortus2 said:
Second question...

Let's say I use Lesser Fire Orb, and make each orb (3 total) hit 3 different people. All hit successfully. Does each one get sneak attack damage applied against them?

Nope. See previous answer.
 
Last edited:

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top