Spell turning vs. spell resistance need help

elmuthalleth

First Post
Hello to everybody .

In my last gaming night , a drow ( with SR 26 ) cast horrid wilting on a PC who had spell turning , and the spell bounced back to the drow wizard .
In this case , the drow spell resistance works ? Where I can found the rule ??

Thank you for the answer
 

log in or register to remove this ad

No, it doesn't work. Your spell resistance never interferes with spells you cast yourself (or your items or abilities). DMG pg. 298.
 

Yes, the drow's SR applies. The drow is the target of a hostile spell. A creature with SR may voluntarily lower his spell resistance to receive beneficial effects, but it is not "always off" for his own spells.
 

Krelios said:
Yes, the drow's SR applies. The drow is the target of a hostile spell. A creature with SR may voluntarily lower his spell resistance to receive beneficial effects, but it is not "always off" for his own spells.

Actually, it is.

SRD said:
A creature’s spell resistance never interferes with its own spells, items, or abilities.
 

But, when the spell is turned, are you sure it's still considered "your own?"

In other words, do you also track the original caster for all spell storing weapons? Let's say the party wizard puts magic missile in the party fighter's spell storing weapon and he uses it against the eeeevil necromancer with spell turning. As the magic missile is turned to the original caster (i.e. the wizard, not the current caster which would be the weapon), does the wizard's SR apply?

How about spell or spell-like ability traps? Is the spell still limited by range?

I realize I don't have any definitive statements and I'm not trying to troll, just raising issues. Honest. :)
 



Patryn of Elvenshae said:
Who set the caster level?

Who chose the targets?

Whose ability scores set the save DC?

Most importantly, who cast the spell?
What he asked. Or, to put it another way, you should just have listened to me in the first place :D
 

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
Who set the caster level?

Who chose the targets?

Whose ability scores set the save DC?

Most importantly, who cast the spell?
All circumstantial at best. As I tried to illustrate in the spell storing analogy, at the point the spell is turned, it is no longer necessarily true that the spell is 'your own'. Let's say that I'm original caster, so I set the CL, choose the original target (but not the final target), and set the other parameters. I argue that this phrase ('your own') could be construed to mean that it's my spell as long as it (1) obeys my commands and (2) retains all the original parameters. Both cases are violated. Is this spelled out anywhere? No, but neither is 'your own' adequately defined.

Your opinion is obviously reasonable. I don't deny it, but I think that this interpretation is also reasonable.
 

For reference...

SRD said:
Spell Turning
Abjuration
Level: Luck 7, Magic 7, Sor/Wiz 7
Components: V, S, M/DF
Casting Time: 1 standard action
Range: Personal
Target: You
Duration: Until expended or 10 min./level

Spells and spell-like effects targeted on you are turned back upon the original caster. The abjuration turns only spells that have you as a target. Effect and area spells are not affected. Spell turning also fails to stop touch range spells.

From seven to ten (1d4+6) spell levels are affected by the turning. The exact number is rolled secretly.

When you are targeted by a spell of higher level than the amount of spell turning you have left, that spell is partially turned. The subtract the amount of spell turning left from the spell level of the incoming spell, then divide the result by the spell level of the incoming spell to see what fraction of the effect gets through. For damaging spells, you and the caster each take a fraction of the damage. For nondamaging spells, each of you has a proportional chance to be affected.

If you and a spellcasting attacker are both warded by spell turning effects in operation, a resonating field is created.
 

Remove ads

Top