• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is LIVE! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

Starting to Paint Mini's

Shapermc

First Post
I need mucho mucho help with this. I am no artist, but I just started a new PnP group that uses Mini's, and I am use to just like die or markers representing characters (or even none at all). These little things are like crack and I am in dire straits.

Well I bought about 10 - 15 minis of all types and man is this difficult. They were all in a $0.50 (US) pile except for the one that I selected to be my Cleric of Illmater and about 4 goblins. Well I also got all kinds of brushes that are like super small tips and I got acrylic paint and a little mixing tray. . .

I painted 2 goblins; the first one I had a hair brush and that was so hard to controll so I got nylon ones and that made it easier to do the details for the second one. Now I have had a few problems with this whole thing and I will list them all, but also any beginners tips/links/guides would also be very helpful.

1) I Have the hardest time with these tiny little goblin teeth/eyes. Should I use a finer brush (which I think that I got the finest one) or a magnifying glass or. . . .

2) There are just some areas that are really hard for me to get a brush into so I just go to a certain point so that I do not put the wrong color paint in the wrong place, but this ends up leaving little pewter areas showing. Should I be priming this, or just put a very light base coat on the whole thing that is like the skin color?

3) My very fine nylon brush is starting to curl a little at the tip. Is there any way to reverse/prevent it?

4) what is the best order to paint in? Like largest portions first (skin or armor which ever has the most surface area), or the details (like the belt or the little dagger on the calf)? Or does it not matter?