Summons and Dispels


log in or register to remove this ad


Lord Pendragon said:
I'm berating you for choosing to nitpick an irrelevant portion of the text I quoted to correct, and then ignoring the rest of my post as unworthy of comment. Had you corrected the srd quote and then commented on my point, fair enough. But taking the time to respond to my post only to correct an error not germaine to the point, and then ignore that point, strikes me as, at the very least, rude.
You had nothing else to your post except "There you go." How did you want me to respond to nothing other than a quote? You didn't even answer the question. Providing a quote does not answer the question unless you assume that the OP didn't even bother reading the spell description. Admittedly, that happens, but your flippant response to the OP is far ruder than my simple correction of your erroneous post. Moreover, your assumption that merely quoting the spell description answers the question is false.
Stalker0 said:
Don't have my book handy, but if that quote is true it does gives some credance that the point of origin can move and is not in fact a static location. So I guess with that you would interpret the point of origin to be the monsters themselves. And so dispelling one monster would allow you to dispel them all.
Well, IMO, that would be a more valid interpretation that Hyp's. However, I'd think the correct interpretation is that since the point of origin moves with each monster, then there are in fact multiple points of origin (there has to be, actually), so dispelling one monster does not dispel them both.
 


Infiniti2000 said:
However, I'd think the correct interpretation is that since the point of origin moves with each monster, then there are in fact multiple points of origin (there has to be, actually), so dispelling one monster does not dispel them both.

Except that there's also the rule that if the summoned monster is in the area of the dispel, the spell that summoned it ends.

You can still get the Green Badger by area-dispelling the Scarlet Badger. It's only thrown question on whether you can get both by area-dispelling the Kitchen.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
Except that there's also the rule that if the summoned monster is in the area of the dispel, the spell that summoned it ends.

You can still get the Green Badger by area-dispelling the Scarlet Badger. It's only thrown question on whether you can get both by area-dispelling the Kitchen.

-Hyp.
But how many extra spell levels do you have to pay to Meta the summoning spell for specific coloured animals?

Mike
 

First off, you can eliminate more effects of a spell outside the area of a dispell, as with any cloud spell where the dispell area covers the point of origin but not the whole spell. Based on this, dispelling one summon elimates all the monsters summoned by that casting.

On the matter of 'point of origin', I find the 20' radius example contrived and technically false. 20' radius means a 40' diameter, not 30'. Also, I think any sort of mechanic like this slows an already slow spell and game mechanic.

I'll stick with the multiple points of origin that Infiniti2000 mentioned. You must cast the dispell to include at least one of the summoned creatures to dispell the spell. The alternative is just not a viable game mechanic.
 

LokiDR said:
On the matter of 'point of origin', I find the 20' radius example contrived and technically false. 20' radius means a 40' diameter, not 30'.

Yup... but I can place three summoned creatures, each within 30 feet of both others, in such a way that a 30' diameter circle won't include all three. That's why I used 20' radius - it's not possible to place the three creatures so a 40' diameter circle won't cover them.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
Yup... but I can place three summoned creatures, each within 30 feet of both others, in such a way that a 30' diameter circle won't include all three. That's why I used 20' radius - it's not possible to place the three creatures so a 40' diameter circle won't cover them.

-Hyp.
Is that a reasonable way to rule the effect? You're 20' won't be the proper limit in some cases, but will include all valid cases. How do you set down your template for a group of 4 summons with an essoteric arrangement? The summon spells were not meant to be burst or spread affects, so I think trying to treat them as such is inappropriate.
 

LokiDR said:
How do you set down your template for a group of 4 summons with an essoteric arrangement?

You can still fit all four into a 20' radius, but you can't guarantee they'll all fit in a 15' radius.

-Hyp.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top