Swords of the bastard kind


log in or register to remove this ad


kreynolds said:


Not exactly. You can still execute a Whirlwind Attack in heavy armor, even though Spring Attack (a prereq for Whirlwind Attack) is unuseable in heavy armor. You didn't lose the SA feat. You still have it, but you just can't use it. So long as you don't actually lose it, you still meet the prereqs for Whirlwind Attack.

Actually, now that I think about it, where does it say you can use WA in heavy armor?
 


Stalker0 said:
Actually, now that I think about it, where does it say you can use WA in heavy armor?

What AGGEMAM said. Again, if you're in heavy armor, you don't lose the Spring Attack feat. You just lose the ability to use it, but you still have it, and so long as you have it, you meet the prereqs of Whirlwind Attack.
 
Last edited:

kreynolds said:


What AGGEMAM said. Again, if you're in heavy armor, you don't lose the Spring Attack feat. You just lose the ability to use it, but you still have it, and so long as you have it, you meet the prereqs of Whirlwind Attack.

Did the Faq gives that justification or did it just say it offhand?

Although your explanation makes a lot of sense.
 


The bastard sword does not require two weapn proficiencies. It only requires one. The other is optional.

Technically the bastard sword does require two feats, martial and exotic. To a non warrior anyway.
Now say a non-warrior wishes to wield a bastard sword and he takes the EWP in bastard sword. Can he wield it one or two handed or by rights should he take the martial proficiency first as a pre-requisite.

Bob
 

Clumsy Bob said:


Technically the bastard sword does require two feats, martial and exotic. To a non warrior anyway.


Nope.

Now say a non-warrior wishes to wield a bastard sword and he takes the EWP in bastard sword. Can he wield it one or two handed or by rights should he take the martial proficiency first as a pre-requisite.

Bob

If you only take the EWP, you only know how to wield it in one hand effectively. You have the -4 penalty when you try to wield it in two hands. Strange but true.
 


From the SRD

Sword, Bastard: A bastard sword is too large to use in one hand without special training; thus, it is an exotic weapon. A Medium-size character can use a bastard sword two-handed as a martial weapon, or a Large creature can use it one-handed in the same way.

Stating a bastard used two handed is a martial weapon, I am of the understanding that most classes other than fighters, barbarians, rangers and paladins require feats to use martial weapons?
Correct me if I am wrong.

Bob
 

Remove ads

Top