Two swift actions in one round

Yupp. I have to admit though that most swift spells in my games have been quickened ones... so the ones I happened to check out yet wouldn't be a problem. Someone with time and the SC wanna check it out?
 

log in or register to remove this ad


I once had it pointed out to me that an epic spellcaster who took Automatic Quicken Spell 3 times ends up only able to cast 1 spell per round, because all his spells are swift, and he just. can't. spend. more. time. casting. them.
 

For those curious...I was interested in being able to cast the spell Inspirational Boost (a swift action spell from Spell Compendium that increases your Inspire Courage by +1/+1) and a Badge of Courage (a swift action item from Magic Item Compendium that increases your Inspire Courage by +1/+1). It seemed silly to me that I could not technically use both in the same round, because each is a swift action.

Maybe I can talk my DM into letting me craft a Badge of Courage that triggers as a a move-action instead of a swift action, at the same cost.
 

I have a feeling it wouldn't be a good idea to allow changing a standard action into a second swift action. While I cannot give an example that would be obviously broken, I believe it's an important part of the balancing that there is no way to gain two swift actions.

Having two swift actions in a round also means that you could take an immediate action during another's turn and still have a swift action available on your own turn. I'm not sure I like this...
 

Jhaelen said:
I have a feeling it wouldn't be a good idea to allow changing a standard action into a second swift action. While I cannot give an example that would be obviously broken, I believe it's an important part of the balancing that there is no way to gain two swift actions.

Having two swift actions in a round also means that you could take an immediate action during another's turn and still have a swift action available on your own turn. I'm not sure I like this...

Wow - this is pretty backwards.

I think you meant:

"I have a feeling it wouldn't be a good idea to allow taking a second swift action in the place of a standard action."

I would have no problem, with it at all. I think it works well, and, in some cases, it is really dumb to not allow it. With the caveat, of course, that it is treated as a standard action - that is, it does not avoid provoking an AoO the way a Swift Action does.

It seems very silly, for example, to do a Swift Action and a Move action and not take any Standard Action and yet have used up your Swift/Immediate Action for the round. Makes no sense at all.

You do NOT end up being allowed to take two Swift Actions in a round. You do end up being able to take two actions, one of which is a Standard Action that is eligible to be a Swift Action - which is a different way of thinking about Swift/Immediate Actions.

I think it is best to think about these three action types as a hiearchy.

All of them may be taken as Standard Actions.
A smaller set of them may be taken as Swift Actions, if you have yet taken a Swift Action or an Immediate Action.
An even smaller set may be taken as Immediate Actions, if you have not yet taken a Swift Action or another Immeidate Action.
 

My "standard response" would be that doing something that requires another swift action can be done as a standard action. If the second swift action is not terribly "actiony" - like activating a defensive magic item or effect - I might be persuaded to let it be a move action. As for a third swift action, just say no (someone's really trying to abuse the rules if he want to do 3 of these in a turn).

Even then, I would forbid certain combinations of actions if I see a hole in the rules.
 

Jhaelen said:
I have a feeling it wouldn't be a good idea to allow changing a standard action into a second swift action. While I cannot give an example that would be obviously broken, I believe it's an important part of the balancing that there is no way to gain two swift actions.

Having two swift actions in a round also means that you could take an immediate action during another's turn and still have a swift action available on your own turn. I'm not sure I like this...

I think you are misunderstanding what Mistwell is looking for. He's not looking for a way to actually take a 2nd swift action; he wants a way to perform something that is *normally* a swift action as a *standard* action.
 

Artoomis said:
I would have no problem, with it at all. I think it works well, and, in some cases, it is really dumb to not allow it. With the caveat, of course, that it is treated as a standard action - that is, it does not avoid provoking an AoO the way a Swift Action does.

This is pretty much how my houserule for this situation works. You can use a standard action to perform what is normally a swift action, but if it does not provoke attacks of opportunity due to being a swift action, it still provokes, since it is no longer swift.

There has yet to be a situation that has come up that I think would merit banning (though I don't ban much, so that may not be a good indicator for some of you).

Later
silver
 

Jhaelen said:
I have a feeling it wouldn't be a good idea to allow changing a standard action into a second swift action. While I cannot give an example that would be obviously broken, I believe it's an important part of the balancing that there is no way to gain two swift actions.

Having two swift actions in a round also means that you could take an immediate action during another's turn and still have a swift action available on your own turn. I'm not sure I like this...

Nobody is talking about two swift actions in a round, or turning a standard action into a swift action, or an immediate action and a swift action.

We are talking about taking LONGER to do a swift action. So turning a swift action into a move action or standard action.
 

Remove ads

Top