James McMurray
First Post
You can only ready a single standard or fre action. A 5' step plus an attack is not a single standard or more action. Even if it were possible, it would only work once. After that, you have to move away, and you cannot take a 5' step when you move away. Your opponent will also get an AoO on you if you move and ready, because you didn't take the withdraw action. If you do take the withdraw action, he'll just charge you.Darklone said:Stuff like this allows the silly manoever for a polearm twink to ready a 5ft step back and an attack as soon as the enemy attacks him... So the other guy closes, wants to attack but no, the polearm dude evades and hits him...
Your ready question sounds much more sensible to me.
The only way this "silly maneuver" allows a "polearm twink" to do anything is if the DM doesn't know the rules.