IceBear
Explorer
I haven't heard of that rule. There *is* a blurb in the PHB where it states that the rogue must be able to reach a vital area in order to sneak attack it but it didn't give any specifics (left it up to the DM's discretion - which I think it should be as there are too many factors to take into account. In the case of the troll and the halfling, I can perceive of a circumstance where the troll reaches down to bite the halfling and the halfling pokes it in the eye (if the groin isn't considered vital)).
Edit: From the SRD -
The last part is probably where this DM is getting this ruling, and it is a judgement call. Perhaps another book - like Song and Silence clarified this with a general rule?
IceBear
Edit: From the SRD -
A rogue can only sneak attack a living creature with a discernible anatomy. Any creature that is immune to critical hits is also not vulnerable to sneak attacks. The rogue must be able to see the target well enough to pick out a vital spot and must be able to reach a vital spot. The rogue cannot sneak attack while striking a creature with concealment or striking the limbs of a creature whose vitals are beyond reach.
The last part is probably where this DM is getting this ruling, and it is a judgement call. Perhaps another book - like Song and Silence clarified this with a general rule?
IceBear
Last edited: