Vital spot OR Can a halfling sneak attack a human?

Can anyone verify that the rule I was talking about previously regarding size differences and critical hits is actually a rule? My player may have been hallucinating when he mentioned it to me, but when he said it, I pretty much instantly "rule-0"ed it, and never bothered even looking to see if the rule was actually there.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Murrdox said:
Can anyone verify that the rule I was talking about previously regarding size differences and critical hits is actually a rule? My player may have been hallucinating when he mentioned it to me, but when he said it, I pretty much instantly "rule-0"ed it, and never bothered even looking to see if the rule was actually there.

Never seen it.
 

Dark Dragon said:
Player of the halfling: So, my halfling can't sneak attack a human in melee combat??

DM: No. Period.

Stupid ruling all around. My son is 4, which makes him a little smaller than a standard halfling. He is more than capable of reaching a"vital spot" on an adult human. In point of fact, when he runs over to hug me, I have to guard certain areas to ensure he doesn't inadvertently head butt me in the wrong place.
 

Re: Re: Vital spot OR Can a halfling sneak attack a human?

Storm Raven said:

Stupid ruling all around. My son is 4, which makes him a little smaller than a standard halfling. He is more than capable of reaching a"vital spot" on an adult human. In point of fact, when he runs over to hug me, I have to guard certain areas to ensure he doesn't inadvertently head butt me in the wrong place.

heh, heh. I think my boy (4 also) has gotten a few crits on me. I think he is in training to be a Rogue.
 

Murrdox said:
Can anyone verify that the rule I was talking about previously regarding size differences and critical hits is actually a rule?
There is no such rule in 3rd Edition D&D. You need to go back to 2nd Edition for that foolishness.
 



Well your new DM should never DM IMO.

The idea behind a Critical Hit is that you accidentally hit a vital spot. A Sneak Attack is that you purposefully hit a vital spot.

There is no rule that small creatures can not Crit larger ones there for they can sneak attack then as well if they have that ability.

The statement that a DM can rule that you can not reach a vital spot is there for circumstances where it would be not feasible to hit any vital spots.

Say the mob has 9/10th cover or total concealment.

I would tell your DM to read the books again before he DMs anything and ask to put him on hiatus.
 

Mahali said:
You can sneak attack creatures who are up to 1 size larger than you.
Can't remember if it's in S&S or was from The Sage.

Not that I'm doubting you but can you provide the quote? There just seems to be so many people that haven't heard of this rule that I'm getting this feeling that this might be a house rule made by 2nd Edition DMs moving to 3E and gained a "it's a rule" status when it not really (there have been a couple of times when people have posted a rule only to discover it was a house rule).

IceBear
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top