Weapon Finesse

Ranger REG said:
The feat mention if you're using light weapons, not "fighting/attacking as if you're using a light weapon." Physically, the quartertaff is a two-handed weapon. It just so happen to have an extra feature, the same way certain polearms have an extra feature (does double damage when set against a charge).

The text of the Power Attack feat states "Normally, you treat a double weapon as a one-handed weapon and a light weapon. If you choose to use a double weapon like a two-handed weapon, attacking with only one end of it in a round, you treat it as a two-handed weapon."

So it's not just for TWF penalties that the off-end of a quarterstaff is treated as a light weapon; it's 'normally' treated as a light weapon.

Unless you're using it as a two-handed weapon, it's treated as a light weapon, and thus can be finessed.

-Hyp.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Stricktly speaking from the rules if the off hand end of the quarterstaff is considered "light' then yeah, Weapon Finesse should work. Then again I consider Weapon Finesse on a case by case basis in my games. In most martial arts movies that I have watched the use of a Quarterstaff involved more speed and precise handling rather than brute strength so I'd allow it for both ends. But that is just me. :)
 

Hypersmurf said:
The text of the Power Attack feat states "Normally, you treat a double weapon as a one-handed weapon and a light weapon. If you choose to use a double weapon like a two-handed weapon, attacking with only one end of it in a round, you treat it as a two-handed weapon."

So it's not just for TWF penalties that the off-end of a quarterstaff is treated as a light weapon; it's 'normally' treated as a light weapon.

Unless you're using it as a two-handed weapon, it's treated as a light weapon, and thus can be finessed.
I disagree. The text is with regards to Power Attack's application when using a double weapon. The feat you mentioned does not redefine what is already stated in the two-weapon fighting rule (see Combat Rules chapter/sections) regarding double weapon, nor the double weapon's description in the Equipment chapter.
 
Last edited:

Ranger REG said:
I disagree. The text is with regards to Power Attack's application when using a double weapon. The feat you mentioned does not redefine what is already stated in the two-weapon fighting rule (see Combat Rules chapter/sections) regarding double weapon, nor the double weapon's description in the Equipment chapter.

It doesn't contradict those.

The TWF and Double Weapon descriptions state that it's treated as a one-handed and light weapon for purposes of TWF penalties. The Power Attack description states that it's considered a one-handed weapon and a light weapon.

The two (or three) are not contradictory; one simply gives more information than the others.

See 3E PHB, p100: Crossbow, Heavy.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
It doesn't contradict those.

The TWF and Double Weapon descriptions state that it's treated as a one-handed and light weapon for purposes of TWF penalties. The Power Attack description states that it's considered a one-handed weapon and a light weapon.

The two (or three) are not contradictory; one simply gives more information than the others.
But what you suggest is that by the wording of Power Attack, the off-hand end of a double weapon is physically a light weapon. You can't look at a weapon by its portion but by its whole.
 

Ranger REG said:
But what you suggest is that by the wording of Power Attack, the off-hand end of a double weapon is physically a light weapon.

Not at all. It's considered a light weapon, and treated as one for purposes of effects that depends on such.

Like Weapon Finesse.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
Not at all. It's considered a light weapon, and treated as one for purposes of effects that depends on such.
I disagree. That "off-hand end" of a double weapon is treated as a light weapon for the sole purpose of two-weapon fighting. It has no other blanket application.


Hypersmurf said:
Like Weapon Finesse.
Looking at the text of the feat, it states "With a light weapon..." A light weapon is defined as "a weapon that can be wielded in one hand and can be used in grappling." A double weapon is a two-handed weapon and cannot be used in one hand nor can it be used in grappling
 

Ranger REG said:
I disagree. That "off-hand end" of a double weapon is treated as a light weapon for the sole purpose of two-weapon fighting. It has no other blanket application.

Not according to the Power Attack feat.


A double weapon is a two-handed weapon and cannot be used in one hand nor can it be used in grappling

A double weapon is a two-handed weapon. When both ends are used, it is considered a one-handed weapon and a light weapon.

Since you cannot attack with two weapons in a grapple, you can never use both ends, and therefore you can't treat one end as light.

Nevertheless, if you can use both ends, one is considered a light weapon, and can therefore be finessed.

The 3E Main FAQ even did include a blanket statement for you:

"Using both ends of a double weapon works exactly like fighting with a one-handed weapon in your primary hand and a light weapon in your off hand." (Emphasis not mine - it's italicised in the FAQ.)

-Hyp.
 

WEAPON FINESSE
Benefit: With a light weapon, rapier, whip, or spiked chain made for a creature of your size category, you may use your Dexterity modifier instead of your strength modifier on attack rolls.

Benefit: With a light weapon, rapier (a one handed weapon), whip (a one handed weapon), or spiked chain (a double weapon)

So from this sentance i can 100% agree that Ranger REG and UltimaGabe are correct.

If the light weapon end of any double weapon was usable with weapon finesse the sentance would read as follows...

Benefit: With a light weapon, rapier, whip, or the offhand attack of a double weapon made for a creature of your size category,
 

Have you ever thought, that not every possibility is listed. I'm pretty sure I could find other rulings where not all possibilities are listed and you can tell wether that rule applies or not.
I agree with Hyp on this one.

You treat it as a light weapon for two-weapon fighting only? -Then he gets a bonus on damage rolls with the off-hand (light) part of a doubleweapon when he uses power attack. Sounds a bit odd. If he can finesse that part he couldn't use power attack with it, sound perfectly fine with me. But a weapon part that is light and still is not light, very odd I think.

or spiked chain (a double weapon)

A spiked chain is a two-handed weapon. ;)
 

Remove ads

Top