Weapon Finesse


log in or register to remove this ad




I vote "no", it's not a light weapon, by my reading. Also makes life simpler by not having to deal with a feat applicable to only one end of a double weapon.

Additionally, per 3.0, you'd have to pick a particular weapon and you'd have had to pick Weapon Finesse (quarterstaff [light end]), which is pretty silly. The list in Weapon Finesse which includes spiked chain but leaves out quarterstaff looks comprehensive.
 

dcollins said:
Additionally, per 3.0, you'd have to pick a particular weapon and you'd have had to pick Weapon Finesse (quarterstaff [light end]), which is pretty silly.

In 3.5 it applies to all light weapons, though... and the off-end is considered a light weapon.

The list in Weapon Finesse which includes spiked chain but leaves out quarterstaff looks comprehensive.

Well, a spiked chain is never considered a light weapon (unless you have levels in Master of Chains and gain the ability to use it as a double weapon, in which case the off-end is considered light). So it needs a specific addition to the feat.

The off-end of a quarterstaff is already covered by "light weapons"...

-Hyp.
 

As usual, I fired off an email to WotC Customer Service about this, and just got the reply:

When using a double weapon for two-weapon fighting (that is, using both ends), one end is considered a one-handed weapon, and the other is considered a light weapon. Can you use the end that is considered a light weapon with the Weapon Finesse feat?

No. Double weapons give you all the penalties of fighting with a light weapon in your off-hand, but none of the benefits.

Thanks!

*Please quote this e-mail in any reply.*
Darrin
Customer Service Department
Wizards of the Coast
1-800-324-6496
 


Saeviomagy said:
I wonder if that means you don't get an extra attack with it. After all, that seems like a benefit to me...

You get an extra attack for having any weapon in your off-hand, no matter what kind it is; that isn't a light weapon-specific thing.
 

Saeviomagy said:
I wonder if that means you don't get an extra attack with it. After all, that seems like a benefit to me...

Just looks like a standard not-supported-by-anything-in-the-Core-Rules Custserv response from here :)

-Hyp.
 

Remove ads

Top