Wildshape and die?

heliopolix

First Post
Here's a situation to ponder. Theres an 11th lvl druid. Theyve just been thru a tough combat, and are likely to rest up before the next encounter. There are a several pc's bleeding to death, so, though the combat is over, i keep the initiative going to make sure they all get healed. The druid is down to 3 HP, and decides not to wait to for the cleric to come heal him (as they can hear noises futher down the corrider), so he uses his last wildshape so he can gain the benefits of resting a day. Unfortunately, he also has a Am of +4 Con. Wildshape says your items meld into you and become non-functional when in wildshape. (he's more of a csty-druid so this tends not to be an issue. He mainly uses WS ti heal, as now.) When EXACTLY does said healing take place? AS you transform? Immediately after you transform?

I see two ways thing scould have gone:

1) After: He wildshapes so all his items become inert. The loss of 4 con costs him 22 HP. The healing from WS hasn't kicked in yet, so he's at -19 Hp and dies.

2) AS: As he Wildshapes, and his Amulet dissapears, he heals 11hp, then loses 22. hets at -8, and is stable (you dont bleed if negative from HP loss from con loss IIRC).

I went with #2, just because I felt that the healing should occur as you transmute. Thoughts and ideas from you all?

On a humourous note - he's now the "walking-dead-man druid", in reference to the barbarians possibility to out-right die when dropping out of rage. It was pretty funny:

Player : I wildshape into a Brown bear, so i can rest as if i'd slept for a night.

Me: What level are you again? (remembering that he'd gotten the am of +4 con from the last loot)

Player: 11

Me: Hrmmm... (does some quick mental calculations) Ok, you fall over, unconscious. You're at -8 HP, but your not bleeding.

Players: WTF????

Me: Well... (explains above, also that if he'd had 1 hp when he'd wildshaped, he'd have been dead. This was almost the case, as the last hit on him i had miscalculated in an earlier round with full str damage for an off-hand attack, which was larger than 1/2 str by 2 points. I had realized my mistake, and had corrected it [luckily] right before the druid declared he was gonna wildshape)

Player: (remembers, goes pale)

Player B: Whoa. thats one barbaric druid. Walking-dead-man-style.

Player: Wildshape is deadly.

All: (laugh, relieved)

Another humourous note is that you no longer drop out of Polymorph/WS when unconscious, only dead. If he'd have reverted to normal form when unconscious, he'd have gotten the am back and been conscious again.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

heliopolix said:
Unfortunately, he also has a Am of +4 Con. Wildshape says your items meld into you and become non-functional when in wildshape.

"When the change occurs, your equipment, if any, either remains worn or held by the new form (if it is capable of wearing or holding the item), or melds into the new form and becomes nonfunctional."

"When an article of magic clothing or jewelry is discovered, most of the time size shouldn’t be an issue. Many magic garments are made to be easily adjustable, or they adjust themselves magically to the wearer. Size should not keep characters of various kinds from using magic items."

Why can't a bear wear a magical amulet? It has a neck, right?

-Hyp.
 

Does it say in the rules that it has a neck? I remember seeing a magical-item location list for PCs, but not for bears...

:)
 



youspoonybard said:

Entirely possible - I remember thinking that while I was looking up quotes, and forgot it by the time I posted :)

He mentions "you no longer drop out of Polymorph/WS when unconscious, only dead"... reverting while unconscious wasn't a 3E rule, so "no longer" isn't referring to the 3E->3.5 changeover.

I don't know how Polymorph worked in 2E, but it sounds like there's a good chance he's playing 3E, not 3.5.

Good catch :)

(Of course, if he is playing 3.5, then he also has to take into account the debate as to whether the change in Con while Wildshaping (black bears have, what, 15 Con?) affects hit points :) )

-Hyp.
 

One of the designers/writers said to be as liberal as possible with who can wear what magic items. I think the exact phrase was "If I could even imagine it being possible, I'd ok it."

Amulets are *easily* still useable by bears. Heck, you can put a collar on them, right?

-The Souljourner
 

I remember reading an example that even cats could wear boots (ala Puss in Boots). If you could even see it happening, an animal should be able to wear pretty much anything.
 


I am running 3.5, but my argument came from an item in MoTW item called a broach of wilding that you attached to an item to let it stay wearable when you wildshaped. I have since looked up the updatyed ruling, and i have to agree that the bear could have worn a necklace. As to the Con of your new form determining your HP, I rule that you take the modifier of your new form. the brown bear had the same modifier as the druid.
 

Remove ads

Top